IT'S ALIVE. (no help from comcast) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2008, 12:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Cool IT'S ALIVE. (no help from comcast)

Ok so i got everything put back together last night, but comcast was being flakey so i couldnt update or get on the net. Just a few teasers for you.


parts


before

after

According to the bios, the CPU is idling at 12C, that seems kind of low right? Or maybe i just got a good chip. I'll report back as i finish updating and reinstall all my programs so i can start tweaking.

Also, SLI + multimonitors = awesome.
One thing though, how do i set my phsyx to my 8800gt?


Some stats.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 01:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: IT'S ALIVE. (no help from comcast)

in the nvidia control panel there should be a tab that says set physx configuration under that you can enable or disable physx as well as dedicating a card to physx
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 01:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: IT'S ALIVE. (no help from comcast)

physx is enabled, but it doesnt have any option for what to use. Says typical usage would be to offload physix to the cpu.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 01:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: IT'S ALIVE. (no help from comcast)

hmm ok it appears i could be wrong. i think that you can only do a physx dedicated card if your not doing sli. if you cant then the physx load is split between the gpu's.

and nice looking set up you got there
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 01:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: IT'S ALIVE. (no help from comcast)

vern posted this a bit ago..i think it's what you're looking for

http://www.techist.com/forums/f78/wh...-asked-191277/

hope it helps :]
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: IT'S ALIVE. (no help from comcast)

^that's what i was looking for. in there it tells you all about it
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 02:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: IT'S ALIVE. (no help from comcast)

Ok so then it will us my 8800gt. Anyhoo, i'm still trying to figure out the bios on this board, havent been about to find where i can set the bclk. Although for some reason the board defaulted me straight to 3.2ghz.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: IT'S ALIVE. (no help from comcast)

maybe you got a superclocked chip by accident :P

anyway..i've seen things about these having some sort of self-ovcerclocking thing built in...maybe it has something to do with it
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 02:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: IT'S ALIVE. (no help from comcast)

Ya the turbo mode will kick the multi up to 21 if the thermal limit is lower enough.

Looks like there is an autooverclock on this board. It's called "dummy overclock". I was thinking it meant dummy like fake, apparently its dummy as in "hurr heres a free overclock". thats why its running at 3.2ghz. Also, i was getting the same stupid BSOD's i was getting with 4ghz of memory on the 750i, so to eliminate the hard drive, which i think might be the issue, i reinstalled on my other 160gb drive and did full updates. Going to run for a few hours with only 2gb and see if i have any issues then pop the other 2 sticks in and see if i get the same issue.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comcast To Make Monthly Internet Use Cap Official Osiris ISP and Web Hosting 3 03-05-2009 04:36 PM
Comcast Plans to Slow Down Heavy Users During Congestion Osiris ISP and Web Hosting 1 08-22-2008 12:48 PM
Comcast Gives Away Wiis To New Subscribers Osiris ISP and Web Hosting 0 07-23-2008 09:51 AM
What is the best router to use when ComCast is our cable provider? soarwitheagles Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 06-22-2008 01:34 PM
Comcast vs Qwest???? igamer Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 10-14-2007 11:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.