It's Alive!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2006, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default It's Alive!!!

Hey I've been posting topics since last summer about what I should get ect. Well, after two days of building, work, building, work, it's finally alive and well today!!! Here is the setup:

Intel Core 2 Duo e6600 @2.4 Ghz w/ Zalman LED 2 ball heatsink and AS5
2x1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 800
Sapphire x1950PRO 256mb
Gigabyte DS3 965p mobo
Soundblaster X-Fi Xtrememusic
OCZ 700W GameXtreme
NZXT Apollo Blue
Samsung DVD-R/RW
Western Digital 250GB 16m HDD @ 7200rpm


I haven't had a truly good gaming pc yet, and this is my first. It is amazing. It booted fine on it's first try, and I had Windows and all the drivers, anti-virus, spyware/adware stuff on it before I knew it. Then, I played Halo at max detail and BF2142 the same with no problem.

But then again, I'm only running a 15 inch. LCD @ 1024x768 . And, the X-Fi can do way more if it had some Logitec Z-5500s behind it. But everything's configured and running like a charm. Setting up my mic headset through onboard sound rather and making only the voice playback coming out the mic was a bit of a pain, but I tested it and it seems ok. I have yet to take this rig online gaming wise.

Meh, I'm going to have to plug in a mobile HDD into my old rig and pull the 2000 songs I have off of it, and get Itunes on this.

I have one more question. I need to get the wires organized in this thing. But there is a ton of them. Can you guys explain some techniques as far as organizing wires go? Mine are kind of shoved to an empty corner of the tower right now, but I'm looking to fix it tomorrow. Thanks, and thanks for assisting me on this build.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Lucky, I only have a 3500 venice. but a 7900gs

you will have fun with it, I know when I first built this thing I wass in awwhhww
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Tuck the unused wires behind the motherboard tray if possible and if you can, pick up a bunch of little zip ties and go to town. Congrats on the new machine.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 10:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Yeah that's what I was thinking, zip ties. I looked around my house, there wasn't any. Then I went to the local Target and they were sold out. I didn't feel like going to Lowes. My dad has a bunch tho, I'll grab some from his house tomorrow.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 12:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya zip ties and anywhere that you can tuck a wire behind, do it.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 07:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

You can tuck the wires behind the drive bays, mobo tray, and I have some of this stuff to help the look of the exposed wires...

http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...7e0ac12cd9a1bb

you can also turn the hard drives around and put the plugs in front. Gives a clean look and you can tuck all the wires behind the drive bays.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 02:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

i just wrap all my wires with colored electrical tape, looks great. it helps to round the ide cables, lot cleaner look, and if theres a space u cant see, try and shove (err....fold and set) the wires in there. zup ties work wonders, u can even get some of those plastic wire clips that have the hole in it and screw it into a screw somewhere by its final resting place to hold it out of the way if it is a rebel and trys to pop back out into the open.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.