Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2006, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Unhappy Issues

Hi my computer has been running slower than ever... when i open Bf2 the main menu lags. so does the music even, and when i try to load a map, that music lags also and it takes about 5 days (exaggeration) and then the game shuts down when i press join game. I took it to the geek squad because i had already tried alot of things like defragging, deleting internet stuff and things like that. but they ran a "diagnostics" and didnt come up with anything wrong. and so when we got it back and it still sucked, we brought it back and they did an "advanced diagnostics" (for free yes!) but didnt find anything. So i pretty much dont know what to do next. I have an emachines T6420 with 1gb of RAM, 200gb hd, AMD 3400+, Thermaltake 430w PS, and the onboard video is nvidia 6100, i had a 6800GS but i had to get an RMA so im waiting for that, but the problem still occured when the card was working.

I have read some threads where people had a similar problem to mine, and got suggestions like reformatting, (i dont know how to do that) cooling issues, and just upgrading the system.

I would just like to add that the issue occured after playing bf2 for like 3-4 hours so i dont know if something overheated or not?

If upgrading is the answer, what part should i upgrade?

thx
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

yes i deffinatly think that its just that your system isnt fast enough to run it.

i say kick the ram up to 2gb and GET A GPU

how do youexpect to play games with onboard graphics? lol
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
yes i deffinatly think that its just that your system isnt fast enough to run it.

i say kick the ram up to 2gb and GET A GPU

how do youexpect to play games with onboard graphics? lol
He had a 6800, and it gave him the same problems! And 1 GB RAM is enough to play BF2, regardless of what everyone want you to believe. If it happens after a couple of hours, it's quite possible overheating. Download Lavalys Everest, and tell us your CPU temps.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Default

lol calm down... i said i have a 6800GS coming in off an RMA. and i could run the game b4 just fine with onboard, and the problem still occured with the old 6800gs. But i dont plan on upgrading or anything until i get that 6800 and then i'll see if it still happens

thx though lol

whoops didnt see magousters post. i'll try that temp business.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by magouster
He had a 6800, and it gave him the same problems! And 1 GB RAM is enough to play BF2, regardless of what everyone want you to believe. If it happens after a couple of hours, it's quite possible overheating. Download Lavalys Everest, and tell us your CPU temps.
oh yeah i missed that, butstill NOW hes trying to play with out a graphics card..

get oneee.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Default

oh yeah... and the lag happens not only in bf2 but just when i open a program like xfire for example
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

how much useless **** and viruses do you have clogging up your computer?

do you have a decent firewall?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Default

well i downloaded the home edition because i wasnt about to buy the other one... and when i click on my processor it shows me the drivers and some other stuff but no temps.. maybe im not at the right thing but help?
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Expand the "Computer" link on the left of the page, and then click sensor. That should bring up the temperatures page.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118
Default

the only temp im getting is my hd with 41c
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net\"><img src=\"http://www.bf2sigs.net/sigs/0/4/55192050.jpg\">
Major Noob is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.