issue of hanging wires in a case - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2005, 10:34 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default

If you can't tie them up to your satisfaction, you could alway cut off the hanging parts. It'll really unclutter your case too.
__________________

__________________
War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature, and has no chance of being free unless made or kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.

-- John Stuart Mill
CitizenCain is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 10:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

never cut wires...
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 11:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Static_11
never cut wires...

Why not ?

When i sleeved my psu i cut off a couple I say if you don't need em then clip em
Shumway is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 01:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

Ya.. if your not going to use them, Cut them off Just make sure you leave enough lenght to tape/cap them off and If you need them later you can alweese reatatch them
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 05:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Static_11
never cut wires...
Why not? You just have to be careful....put down some foam so the sparks don't destroy your components, and wear thick gloves (rubber or leather), so you don't get shocked when you cut into the wires.

And ALWAYS makes sure you have a jug of water nearby... if a stray spark starts a fire in your rig, you'll need to pit it out *real* quick, or you could cause some serious damage. From my experience, water puts out fire fast, so just dump a bunch of it on the fire and you should prevent any serious damage to your rig. If you're not sure how much to use, just put some more on there.
__________________
War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature, and has no chance of being free unless made or kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.

-- John Stuart Mill
CitizenCain is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 06:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

jokes apart

some of the wires were touching the processor's fan and were creating this jet engine noise.
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Just start tucking wire's behind anything you can,Before i put my new board in i drilled hole's in the motherboard tray,That way i could hide some of the wire's but still be able to use them and get rid of the clutter
Shumway is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 04:50 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the suggestion dude
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 10:23 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

ifyou wanna get custom you could sleeve the wires whti a colred sleeve and put lights on it to make it look sick!!!
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 12:30 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CitizenCain
Why not? You just have to be careful....put down some foam so the sparks don't destroy your components, and wear thick gloves (rubber or leather), so you don't get shocked when you cut into the wires.

And ALWAYS makes sure you have a jug of water nearby... if a stray spark starts a fire in your rig, you'll need to pit it out *real* quick, or you could cause some serious damage. From my experience, water puts out fire fast, so just dump a bunch of it on the fire and you should prevent any serious damage to your rig. If you're not sure how much to use, just put some more on there.
It's called unpluggin the PS. lol. No sparks, no fires, no water needed.
__________________

__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.