issue of hanging wires in a case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2005, 06:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default issue of hanging wires in a case

Hello

I recently moved my mobo and other bits to an antec sonata. now i feel like i have got a lot of wires hanging. i was wondering if these hanging wires, some of which are touching components is a problem.

i mean from a perspective of air flow it is an issue but if they are touching a component will they cause some bad electrical problem(i know they are insulated but i am just double checking)
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

no not unless wire is exposed but it doesnt hurt to move em outta the way
__________________

__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 02:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the reply
tie them up with some string ?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 08:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Ya tie them all together.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 08:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

not string use zip ties
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

what is a zip tie?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

a cable tie, http://www.jeepolog.com/images/toolb.../zip%20tie.jpg
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 04:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

ah ha, that is what those whatchamacallit's are called

i also found this
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...avigationKey=0

which one do you guys think is better?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 08:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rookie1010
ah ha, that is what those whatchamacallit's are called

i also found this
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...avigationKey=0

which one do you guys think is better?
Either of them will do the trick.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 08:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

that velco is better for the outside wires
__________________

__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.