internet cafe's athlon, WOW !!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 06:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Default internet cafe's athlon, WOW !!!

So I was at this New Internet Cafe this afternoon, and I was crusing the internet. And while surfing I noticed that the system was lightning fast. So of course I pressed "Windows Option + Pause Break" to check out the system. It was an Athlon 3200+ 2.0 Ghz. And a 1GB Ram and A Nvidia Gforce 6600.

Now how come I thought my system was the fastest ? Is it because I have a Louzy Graphic card (Radeon 7500 64mb) or is in fact the 2.0 GHZ. faster than my Pentium 4 3.0E (478 Prescott) ???

I've heard people tend to choose Athlon over Intel's Pentium 4 in order to game better... This is not important to me. I wish to have a road runner effect on my system.

Could it be that I felt the Athlon system at the internet cafe was super fast because of the Gforce graphic card???

Please your thoughts

Thank you
Happy Holidays
__________________

__________________
ASUS P4P800 SE
Pentium 4 Prescott 3.0 E (478 socket)
Radeon 7500 64mb (I know ... (^_^)
when i get around to it)
Samsung PC3200 512mb x 2 (DUAL SOCKET)
SEAGATE 300GB SATA
SEAGATE 120GB IDE
honsbeek is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 06:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

maybe cause the interent connection was faster then yours?

athlon 3200+ = 2.0Ghz = P4 3.2Ghz
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 06:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

A well cleaned and oiled machine, clear of clutter, those specs and a fast internet connection will give you a great browsing experience.

I've come across systems that are horrific, old machines and loaded with rubbish downloaded by various people over time. Are those machines used for gaming out of interest? They may pay particular attention to keeping them clean if they are.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ergo-items.com\">www.ergo-items.com - Ergonomic Computer Products</a>
Cobalt is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 08:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a Geforce 6600 is a big improvement over a Radeon 7500, but that might not be why the system felt faster. if you were gaming, then it would make a big diference. but if browsing the internet, then it would be because the machine is well maintained, or they installed/reinstalled Windows pretty recently.

although the Athlon XP 3200+ will be a little bit faster on average than a Pentium 4 3.0GHZ
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34
Default

what's the p4 equivalent of an amd athlon 64 3700+ 1mb san diego and a 3500+ 512k venice
dive is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to klevenskiy
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
maybe cause the interent connection was faster then yours?

athlon 3200+ = 2.0Ghz = P4 3.2Ghz
Can you explain how you calculated this? I have never understood what is the difference between Intel and AMD processors. At the moment I have an AMD Athlon 2400+ with the clock speed of 2.0
klevenskiy is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 02:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

he assumed this was atlon 64. if athlon xp, caNNOT be done this way "athlon 3200+ = 2.0Ghz = P4 3.2Ghz"
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 02:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

amd builds processors that can do more in one cycle rather than going for higher numbers...

so a 2Ghz amd would be as fast or faster than a 3Ghz intel processor
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 02:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dive
what's the p4 equivalent of an amd athlon 64 3700+ 1mb san diego and a 3500+ 512k venice
so what are these in p4 language :P
dive is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 02:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 118
Default

the numbers in the model of the athlon, are equal to a intel speed.

so a athlon 3700, is equal to an intel running ay 3.7ghz...
__________________

__________________
AMD athlon 64 3700
DFI lanparty ultra-d
Leadtek 7800gt
2gb ocz ram
antec gaming case
antec 450w PSU
stock cooling and more fans
XP home sp 2

<a href=http://profile.xfire.com/afteryou><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/co/type/2/afteryou.png width=450 height=34></a>
scottishbmxer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.