Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2008, 06:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards?

Is my chip x3220 "xeon quad core" compatible with boards that say they are core 2 quad compatible? Or do I need to find a board that says it is compatible with my exact chip?.

Intel Xeon X3220 Quad-Core CPU is what i have and I'm wanting to buy the new 780i xfx mainboard to go along with that.
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 07:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards?

Yup, it's the same exact chip. You should just get a q6600.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards?

Some Xeons use a different number of pins. I'm not sure about those that say 775... I figure gurusan checked his stuff out before he posted, though.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards?

Yeah the 3xxx series are all socket 775 and are slightly more expensive than the normal q6600s...However, since they are basically the same chips in pretty much every respect there's no point in paying the extra for them unless you just want Xeon l33t status
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards?

Yeah, I figured as much. So the Xeons aren't the cha-ching the Opterons are/were to the standard s939 chips?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 09:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Yeah, I figured as much. So the Xeons aren't the cha-ching the Opterons are/were to the standard s939 chips?
Unfortunately, no.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 03:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards?

arent those xeon chips 45nm tho?
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards?

List of Intel Xeon microprocessors - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

X3220 is based on Kentsfield, so it is not 45nm
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards?

So, get a q6600 is basically the idea here? Or wait for the new quads?
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 05:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards?

these 45nm Quad-Core Harpertowns don't look bad either

Newegg.com - Intel Xeon E5410 Harpertown 2.33GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 771 80W Quad-Core Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - Intel Xeon E5405 Harpertown 2.0GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 771 80W Quad-Core Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - Intel Xeon E5405 Harpertown 2.0GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 771 80W Quad-Core Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - Intel Xeon E5405 Harpertown 2.0GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 771 80W Quad-Core Processor - Retail

they are Socket 771 tho...

so stick with the x3210 ro x3220 (hope for a g0!!)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCC makes a quad core bike for Intel. Jayce Off Topic Discussion 31 12-31-2007 12:35 AM
Phenom x4 vs Intel Core 2 and Quad gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-03-2007 07:01 PM
intel quad core lowend server - final sale! Demalii Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 10-10-2007 09:08 PM
Intel to release a quad core Xeon with a 50W TDP b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 08-14-2007 07:16 PM
2.4 Intel Quad Core Server FS! Demalii Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 08-14-2007 02:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.