intel vs amd - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2006, 05:51 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

AMD athlon 64 3000+ = p4 3.0ghz with 512KB L2 cach memory

but if u have p4 3.0GHz with 1MB or 2MB cach memory, it will beat AMD athlon 64 3000+, isn't that right???
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 10:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

AMD's run cooler too. and have more efficient architecture!
__________________

adam02 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 12:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
But if u have p4 3.0GHz with 1MB or 2MB cach memory, it will beat AMD athlon 64 3000+, isn't that right???
Depends on what you're doing. In video encoding, which requires fast clockspeeds and a large cache, yes, the Pentium 4 would probably beat the A64. In office applications, like Word/Excel/(Basically ANY office application), which don't require any fast clockspeeds or large caches, they would be the same. In videogames, which require a efficient architecture, and are helped by AMD's onboard memory controller, the A64 would kick the Pentium 4's a$$.

You tell me. What's more important? Video Encoding or Video Games?
Flanker is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 03:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Depends on what you're doing. In video encoding, which requires fast clockspeeds and a large cache, yes, the Pentium 4 would probably beat the A64. In office applications, like Word/Excel/(Basically ANY office application), which don't require any fast clockspeeds or large caches, they would be the same. In videogames, which require a efficient architecture, and are helped by AMD's onboard memory controller, the A64 would kick the Pentium 4's a$$.

You tell me. What's more important? Video Encoding or Video Games?

hey flanker can you help out in this....

video encoding cpu
brownbomber is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 03:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

Well "ihatewalmart" you have no such ground to make such drastic comparisons when you take your other useless posts into consideration (i.e "is this a good build?") ...b/c when you do it is very hard to take you seriously! As far as comparing Intel's pro with AMD's.....thats just something your not capable of doing! Please do some research b4 you make such acusations and also PLEASE dont put "Intel vs. amd" as a title if you are not going to prove VALID points on why one is better than the other! As i said b4, if you would like help with information regarding computers, software, or just basic posting "rules" then you can contact me at sw_freak64@yahoo.com or sw_freak64 via Yahoo IM. I'm always available for help!
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 04:07 PM   #16 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by adam02
AMD's run cooler too. and have more efficient architecture!
only with intel's 95nm architecture tho. the intel EE 955 dual core runs much lower temps since its 65nm and is better than amd at OCing.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 11:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
ril
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Does anyone have a link that compares all major CPU's Athlon and Intell in Performance test with in video games. With graph's and all that
ril is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 11:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...u-games_3.html

But the videocard often bottlenecks the CPU so it ends up looking like this;

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...-games2_3.html

The first link is pure performance, and AMD owns in that. The second link is with the videocard keeping the processors from it's maximum ability.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.