intel QUAD core info - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default intel QUAD core info

as always, consumer oriented informing I be...

Initially Intel planned for Quads in 07 but good thing they moved it up (good or bad really )

http://www.zdnetasia.com/news/hardwa...9376580,00.htm

http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20060720-7310.html


2nd link talks about both sides for your buying decision pleasure!

And now for some Wexford Irish Cream Ale. First time with this...anybody have experience with this particular brew? It's a pint...will I get lit from just 1 can? lol

Hope everybody (in the US and some asian countries, that I know of, are having a wonderful and safe 3 day weekend)

__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 09:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Sounds like, IMHO, AMD's 4x4 will be the better system, however more expensive it is expected to be, because each processor will have it's own set of RAM.

I stay by AMD another day.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

yeah, I was going to make that comment but didn't want to add anything...hehe

I was typing it and then thought....well, intel's architecture just may be good enough that they can do that. Much like their lack of the integrated memory controller vs AMDs...but Conroes still fly past the AMDs

it's a holdover tech until real intel quads appears, then it gets interesting
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 09:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

yeah i thought i read something about AMD's quad cores coming out in 08 along with ddr3 or something like that...

looking forward to more clear answers
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 03:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tommyboy123x
yeah i thought i read something about AMD's quad cores coming out in 08 along with ddr3 or something like that...

looking forward to more clear answers
Quadcore and 4x4 is 2 different things. 4x4 is going to be 2 dualcore processors. Pretty big waste-o-money if you ask me.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Yeah 4x4 sucks a nut
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 03:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default 4x4/quad

i did read the article...

i was talking about quad core though because its similar, coming up in a few years, and going to be another waste of money when it first comes out....

i mean, dual core is hard enough to program for... LETS MAKE 4 CORES TO PROGRAM FOR!! YAY!!!!!

It almost reminds me of the whole SLI thing when nvidia was making quad SLI and up to 8 GPU's in one computer... it's not improving technology, its just shoving more things in to make it better and forcing programmers to accomidate...

4 cores is just too much whether its 4x4 or quad core... but people will start programming for 4 core computers and you will notice a lag with dual core, and especially with single core...

EDIT: unless what i read about AMD was 4x4 and not quad, which would make more sense.... then disregard the post above
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 03:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

You don't need to program for 4 cores.

Multicore programs should work fine on 2+ cores.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 03:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

when I tried something out programming in dual core i set the affinity and stuff for that process... but i see how this could be avoided......
__________________

__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.