INTEL over AMD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2005, 11:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Thumbs up INTEL over AMD?

I see a lot of hardcore AMD fans out there so i'm wondering in what situation would you recommend buying Intel over AMD? Is there actually a situation that exists?
__________________

BColes is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

Price Performance Ratio - AMD

Office Applications - Intel

Depends on what you need...
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 12:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Intel P4 over AMD 64:
1.) Media Center PC'S
2.) Business "Office PC's"

AMD 64 over Intel P4
1.) Gaming PC
1.) General PC @ Lower Cost

I like both. I use both. I recommend both.

It all depends on what you want the PC for IMO.

I'm not a fanboy either way...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 12:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
I'm not a fanboy either way...
Right on. I get annoyed when people bash just because their processor "Rocks" or scored 7% better in some benchmark for some game that "some" people play. This is me getting off my soapbox.
BColes is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 02:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default

label me as you will, but ive been in this industry for the past 6 years, progressivly getting more and more involved.

MY experiences are as follows....

amd has always been cheaper, and usually is able to stay on top of the benchmarks, or with intel on almost everything else. I would not, nor have i ever bashed intel. They are a great company, make a great product.

If you really want to get into why AMD is better, or so many believe that, start researching clock cycles, and how amd utilizes clock cycles differently and well better than intel.
sCribes is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 03:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sCribes
If you really want to get into why AMD is better, or so many believe that, start researching clock cycles, and how amd utilizes clock cycles differently and well better than intel.
now we're talking. I care more about the dirt that poops sits on than DOOM3 benchmarks and 3Dmark scores. I'm kidding mostly, but i would rather hear about clock cycles than FPS. sCribes if you have links or any info on that i would like to see it. Thanks
BColes is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 04:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

AMD: Almost everything.
Low cost PC's
Buisness PC's*
Gaming PC's
High end PC's
Extreme Multitasking PC's
Extreme Servers
Medium Servers
Low end Servers

Intel: Video editing PC's (I recomend mac though)
Early multitasking build's
Low cost Dual Core
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 05:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Intel: Video editing PC's (I recomend mac though)
Jim henson studios which has some of the most advanced and up to date real time rendering and video editing equipment in the world use AMD Opterons..well hell they may have changed with the addition of the X2s and all by this time
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 05:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah but they are not using your standard consumer software.

In a large enviroment, you need to look at alot more than a forum to decide what you want. I also bet their software is 64 bit.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 05:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Yeah but they are not using your standard consumer software.
We aren't talking software here....the software needs a good backbone and I was simply making a little side comment that they are obviously fans of AMD and rely on them for their video editing and rendering needs
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.