Intel i5 760 or AMD 970? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2010, 05:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 110
Question Intel i5 760 or AMD 970?

Which do you think would be a better choice for a CPU?

Newegg.com - Intel Core i5-760 Lynnfield 2.8GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80605I5760

or

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 970 Black Edition Deneb 3.5GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Desktop Processor HDZ970FBGMBOX

thanks!
__________________

__________________
#teamdismay
xxdeadweightxx is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 07:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Intel i5 760 or AMD 970?

If you can back the machine behind it, the i5 760. The 955, 965, and 970 are all the same CPU just binned differently.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Intel i5 760 or AMD 970?

an i5 will SMOKE anything AMD.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 03:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Intel i5 760 or AMD 970?

Unless you plan on doing crazy multitasking, i5 for sure. The reason I say this is that the 1055T is the same price (or less) as the 760. Of course, with the 970 you'd have more of your budget left over for other parts.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 11:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Intel i5 760 or AMD 970?

Passmark scores and NewEgg prices:

AMD Phenom II X4 970 --- 4478 - $180
Intel Core i5 760 --------- 4561 - $209
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T - 5184 - $180
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T - 6078 - $229


Very little difference between the 760 and 970 for an extra $29. The x6 1055T costs the same as the 970 and beats the 760. For $20 more than the 760 you can go with a x6 1090T which comes in right under the i7 940 (6117). The same motherboards will run the 970, 1055T, and 1090T, BTW.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 12:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Intel i5 760 or AMD 970?

Both CPU's are about equal in performance ratio. If you are going to be overclocking I'd go with the i5 760 because you have a lot more headroom with the i5 760 then the Phenom II X4 970. If you're not going to overclock then the Phenom II X4 970 has a better price/performence ratio then the i5 760.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 12:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: Intel i5 760 or AMD 970?

If you are going to overclock I suggest getting a 955 and spending the savings towards a nice aftermarket HSF. Otherwise I can vouch for the 1055T- great CPU. The Thuban processors also OC very well.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 07:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Intel i5 760 or AMD 970?

With quads and OCing, 750/760 any day.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 10:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Intel i5 760 or AMD 970?

Not this again.
i5 760!

I have one myself, and love it. Only my motherboard has 2 bad RAM slots. But that doesn't mean i5 is bad.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 10:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: Intel i5 760 or AMD 970?

One more vote for the Intel chip from this guy.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which would be faster 2 Intel Xeon 2 Ghz or an Intel Celeron Dual Core 2.5 Ghz? JSzaday System Upgrades 2 05-23-2010 08:22 AM
Intel, AMD Settle Antitrust Disputes, Intel to Pay AMD $1.25 Billion Wildside Polls 31 11-21-2009 01:59 AM
Intel lawsuit from AMD pushed to 2010, Intel Monopoly! Wildside Polls 30 06-24-2008 05:28 PM
ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard kur0suto Overclocking and Modding 0 09-14-2007 01:40 AM
ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard kur0suto New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-02-2007 07:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.