Intel Hard-Launches Three New Quad-Core CPUs - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2007, 12:05 AM   #21 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ferarri
ya i know about my name/avatar thing. My favorite car was a ferrari 550 maranello until I decided to change my mind when I saw one of these beautiful cars in LA. Unfortunately I can't change my name

Back on topic: Dario thanks for the find. I think that the q6600 will rate a little lower than the fx-74s. But that's just a guess.
you could ask a moderator and they could change it for you.
but quad cores look nice rignt now and theyre pricey. i just want to wait and see how they do.
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 12:06 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

You misunderstood my post, nagasama. For AMD's 4x4, you need two of each FX-7* processor. A 4x4 system using FX-74s would need two FX-74s, for a total of $1100 for the processors. And the only 4x4 motherboard available on Newegg costs $430. $999 for the QX6700 isn't bad when you consider that is it actually faster than the $1100 FX-74, not to mention the lower power consumption and motherboard costs.

But on the high-end, and everywhere else even, the costs of processors rarely correspond to their performance. The most powerful processors will also be sold at a premium by their makers.

As for the prices on the Q6600, read the article that I linked at the beginning.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 12:55 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

TriEclipse if you're interested in the overclocking potential check out some of eva2000's (i think it was eva) posts. i think he got an ES q6600. i'm not sure if he posted the results on XS but probably did. if not you can look at OCAU
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 02:04 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

That Alan Wake game looks interesting, and it certainly makes me hunger for four cores....
__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 07:52 AM   #25 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

oh i gotcha trieclipse. i did misunderstand, thought we were comparing qx6700 to one fx-74.
i wonder how the fx-74 fares against the x6800?
that would probably be a more fair comparison. although i believe the x6800 uses the same socket 775 mobo as the other c2d's?
also based on the link tri posted it looks like the intel q6600 uses the same socket 775 mobo as well, ie nothing different than dual core c2d.
and the amd you would have to get their socket f mobo. (which really aren't that expensive, for the single socket board). the 4x4 is outrageuosly expensive.
i also wonder when amds 65 nm architecture comes out if it will be able to keep up with the c2d performance wise?
by the way, can someone explain to me why the c2d's overclock so well (or so high i should say), and i have to work like a slave to get my little 4200 past a 5-600 mhz overclock?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 08:28 AM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

part of the reason the Core 2's overclock so well could be attributed to their longer pipeline.........

as for 65nm improving performance, the issue has been done to death. 65nm DOES NOT improve performance. it increases voltage and thermal efficiency, that is all. it generally doesn't provoke any spectacular clock increases either due to the fact the maximum voltage threshold is reduced, it just scales down the voltage required.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:14 AM   #27 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
part of the reason the Core 2's overclock so well could be attributed to their longer pipeline.........

as for 65nm improving performance, the issue has been done to death. 65nm DOES NOT improve performance. it increases voltage and thermal efficiency, that is all. it generally doesn't provoke any spectacular clock increases either due to the fact the maximum voltage threshold is reduced, it just scales down the voltage required.
and might I add that, the 65nm process also produces less heat, which results in lower temperatures.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:41 AM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

personally i like the way i said it.....

Quote:
it increases voltage and thermal efficiency


if i ever miss a detail i'm either drunk or your not looking hard enough. probably the former.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:45 AM   #29 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

lol...sorry about that.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:18 AM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i'm sorry for pointing out that i'd already said it . i've just got something i call i-told-you-so syndrome. throughout school for some reason most people would never take my opinion over someone elses so all i had in the end was "i told you so". because i always did .
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.