Intel E8400 vs. Q6600 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2008, 01:01 AM   #11 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
I have to think either you had something wrong with your qx if your dual core running slower is better than a quad core running faster.

You can have my q6600 when you pry it from my cold dead hands. Or when i upgrade to i7.
i either stick with air and upgrade cpu or water cool the heck out of my cpu. even with water you only leave yoru hcip at 3.6 veed?
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 03:43 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

So i found a review on the E8500 which compares it to the Q6600 in all tests:

Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Review - Overclockers Club

Based on this review and what you've said here, I think im going with the Q6600.

Im sure I wont notice the difference anyway...
__________________

skele89 is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 03:46 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Considering that its 79f inside and about 60f outside, yes, i keep the cpu at 3.6. Once the snow starts falling and i have problems keeping it warm in the apt, i'll ramp it up. But its already hard enough to keep it cool in my apt.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 03:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Personally, I've had mucho quads...and now I'm back to dualies because they just seem faster for basically everything except encoding and rendering.

4.5gHz 45nm dualie owns all

Also despite what many people may think, my dualie actually handles Solidworks and CAD better than my quad setups did (except the 4.2ghz QX9650, but that was too expensive to keep).

I still want a quad, but only a 45nm E0 stepping which I won't be able to afford for awhile. Anything under 4.1-4.2ghz will leave me sorely disappointed.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 04:09 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Oh. my entire qx rig is still sitting in my closet. I ordered all new parts :/
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 04:48 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

I'm very indecisive.

Uses for the build are AutoCAD, Games, video watching and a bit of photoshop and premiere here and there.

I like the idea of having four cores, but i dont see any immediate uses for it. By the time i do find uses for it, prices on quads will have dropped and more games will take advantage of them - i could upgrade. That would mean i should buy a mobo compatible with dual and quad i suppose... (I think that will be the Asus P5K Pro).

Does this sound like a good approach?

Obviously it's all personal opinions...
skele89 is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 04:50 AM   #17 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Well if your doing editing and Cad stuff then get the Quad.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 04:56 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Yeah I agree with zedman. you can either get a dual now and a quad later, and end up paying more in the long run... or just get a quad now and be done with it.
Like I said I don't run CAD or anything. Just some serious gaming and the occational video work, both of which a dual core will tear through.

Basically if you're already planning on upgrading to a quad, why add an extra step and get a dual first.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 05:14 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Right. Im sick of pondering - i'll be happy with either and i think i can get the q6600 cheaper.

So im going with that.
skele89 is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 11:51 AM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
Oh. my entire qx rig is still sitting in my closet. I ordered all new parts :/
you wanna sell the 9650?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hd 4850 vs 9800 gtx+? Ur opinion? Stryker_77 New Systems | Building and Buying 121 10-08-2008 04:40 AM
intel Q6600 Batch List thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 86 10-03-2008 01:01 AM
New Intel Allendale Processors & Price Cuts___Oct 21st maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 29 10-14-2007 11:50 AM
Intel will lower the Q6600 Power Consumption on 16th of July maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-01-2007 08:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.