Intel E8400 vs. Q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2008, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Question Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Im building a new PC and both of these processors are in my price range. Im not likely to be running more than 2 demanding programs at once at present, but times change...

Which will be faster for running a single demanding program?

Which will be faster for running 2?

And which will be faster for running 3?
__________________

skele89 is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

the q6600 will be fastest for 2 or more, anything other the e8400 with a good overclock will do well. there preaty impressive chips, but i love my q6600.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

I just downgraded from a QX9650 to an e8400 and I like it more :/
Haven't noticed any difference in running programs, and my gaming FPS has jumped by 10-15fps.
Only things i do as far as programs go is video encoding and running winrar and burning junk though.

if you plan on running a bunch of demanding programs at a time then i say go with a quad. The q6600 is cheap and performs good.

Since all I do is video encoding and running winrar there was no use for me to run a quad.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 06:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

dam i was looking at goin with a q9550 this xmass but b ythe looks of it id be better with an e8600 or e8500.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 08:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

I dunno it all depends on what you do I guess.

People can go on about how all new games and stuff are goign to be multithreaded for quad core compatability, but fully quad compatible games are probably still a ways off.

As much as i like the idea of a quad core, I spend most of my time either playing games or watching media. both of which seem to be better suited for dual cores at the moment.

Funny thing above is the QX9650 I had was clocked at 4.2ghz daily use, and this e8400 is only at 3.79ish :/ Why performance increased with the e8400 completely baffles me.

oh well it was cheap as heck so im happy.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 10:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

what did you do qith your qx? also there not tht=at far off warhammer online uses 4 cores and cod4 uses 3. so smp games are on there way.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 10:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Brand New QX9650 are at $600

E8400 = Gaming Most Of The Time
Q6600 = Lots Of Programs/Applications Opened At The Same Time

Or whichever is the cheapest becuase you wont see much difference from both of them
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 11:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Yeah price sure has dropped on em :/ Hate to think what I paid for mine haha.

What did i do with it? Nearly exclusive gaming, with small amounts of video encoding here and there. Cod4, crysis, supcom, crysis: warhead, oblivion, frontlines, nwn2, wic, wow, rsv2, ut3, overlord, c&c3 and spore. That's about the extent of the games I play atm. have like gamer ADD or something lol

I know smp games are on the way. Slowly. and it probably won't matter all that much when they do get here. It's still gonna take a while for them to get it right. Half the companies still aren't even bothering with it, and quad cores have been out for a while.

it doesn't matter which you get, they'll both perform pretty much the same in most things. The e8400 will still take the cake in games though :/

Just flip a coin.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 11:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
Yeah price sure has dropped on em :/ Hate to think what I paid for mine haha.

What did i do with it? Nearly exclusive gaming, with small amounts of video encoding here and there. Cod4, crysis, supcom, crysis: warhead, oblivion, frontlines, nwn2, wic, wow, rsv2, ut3, overlord, c&c3 and spore. That's about the extent of the games I play atm. have like gamer ADD or something lol

I know smp games are on the way. Slowly. and it probably won't matter all that much when they do get here. It's still gonna take a while for them to get it right. Half the companies still aren't even bothering with it, and quad cores have been out for a while.

it doesn't matter which you get, they'll both perform pretty much the same in most things. The e8400 will still take the cake in games though :/

Just flip a coin.
when i meant what did u do with it like where is it now that you have an e8400.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 11:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Intel E8400 vs. Q6600

I have to think either you had something wrong with your qx if your dual core running slower is better than a quad core running faster.

You can have my q6600 when you pry it from my cold dead hands. Or when i upgrade to i7.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hd 4850 vs 9800 gtx+? Ur opinion? Stryker_77 New Systems | Building and Buying 121 10-08-2008 04:40 AM
intel Q6600 Batch List thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 86 10-03-2008 01:01 AM
New Intel Allendale Processors & Price Cuts___Oct 21st maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 29 10-14-2007 11:50 AM
Intel will lower the Q6600 Power Consumption on 16th of July maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-01-2007 08:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.