intel e7400 for gaming? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2009, 08:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: pakistan,lahore
Posts: 39
Default intel e7400 for gaming?

will this intel core2 duo e7400 processor be called a good cpu in terms of playing the latest and the greatest games of now and the future such as gta4 and the gta 5 which will be coming soon.

if a cpu falls in the minimum requirement of a game then what effect does this have on the game, is the fps decreased ? by how much % ?
__________________

bonga is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 10:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: intel e7400 for gaming?

Games like GTAIV are highly CPU-intensive. While I don't have much experience with GTAIV myself, an E7400 should at least be adequate for running it on medium - this of course depends on your video card.
Quote:
is the fps decreased ? by how much % ?
Decreased from what number?
I think a better question to ask would be 'what fps would I expect from an e7400', in which case that again depends on your GPU.

Otherwise the E7400 is a decent CPU, though an E8400 would be a better idea.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: intel e7400 for gaming?

most games nowadays are highly GPU intensive. but games like GTA IV are CPU killers. my quad running GTA IV is at about 98% usage most of the time, but i am running it maxed out at 1680x1050. i get good FPS too in the 40-60 range.

paired with the right GPU a e7400 will be a good gaming rig.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 12:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: intel e7400 for gaming?

Last I checked GTA IV still needs at least a tri-core to run decently. When I run the game I'm constantly getting down to 17fps no matter what settings I use. And I believe my cpu is faster than a stock e7400, though overclocked a e7400 would be faster but still only a dual core. So if getting a intel a would suggest a quad core.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 01:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: intel e7400 for gaming?

^ no a e2180 3.2ghz MIGHT be equal to or slightly slower than the e7400 at 2.8ghz, the e7400 still has the extra 1mb of cache.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 02:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: intel e7400 for gaming?

Well I was thinking of the e7300 then at 2.66ghz. But I thought the extra 2mb cache only made the e7xxx ~5% faster clock for clock than a e2xxx in games. But in any case as far as I know neither is very good for GTA IV.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 03:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: pakistan,lahore
Posts: 39
Default Re: intel e7400 for gaming?

by how much would the e8400 out perform the e7400 in gaming?

i've heard that cache has NO AFFECT ON the game fps?
bonga is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 04:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: intel e7400 for gaming?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonga View Post
if a cpu falls in the minimum requirement of a game then what effect does this have on the game, is the fps decreased ? by how much % ?
Under minimum requirements means that you will have a hard time trying to run the game. It will not be fun.

Over keeping in mind, it more that just the CPU. It's also the GPU. I have seen some people try putting in a chop notch video card into a slower system to help improve performance. However don't expect too much as the GPU will still require assistance from the CPU.

It's like a slow car. A slow car will still be slow car even if you put a turbo into it.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 12:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: pakistan,lahore
Posts: 39
Default Re: intel e7400 for gaming?

then can any of u tell me a good combination of a cpu and a gpu within $220.
bonga is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 12:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: intel e7400 for gaming?

With that budget I imagine you'd be better off going with AMD.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel face greatest fine in EU history thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 36 05-15-2009 11:41 PM
CASE and PSU NEEDED!! Please Check It out~~!~ Twalker323 New Systems | Building and Buying 19 10-03-2008 02:46 PM
Best onboard graphics option for an Intel mobo? blue-lynx New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-01-2008 08:08 PM
Intel says 48 core graphics just over the horizon Osiris New Technology and Products 17 08-05-2008 08:26 AM
Intel Demonstrates First 32nm Chip and Next-Generation Nehalem Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 09-20-2007 01:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.