Intel E6550 and E6750 processors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2007, 01:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 85
Default Intel E6550 and E6750 processors

Are there any differences between these two cpu? They both have 2.66ghz, 1333fsb and 4mb L2 cache and came with full set. Why is there a slight difference in pricing and also which would be a better choice?
__________________

MonkeyBusiness is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Intel E6550 and E6750 processors

The e6550 is 2.33GHz and the e6750 is 2.66GHz. That's the difference
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Intel E6550 and E6750 processors

Both have G0 stepping which consumes less power. I would say, go for the E6550 and overclock it.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 11:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Intel E6550 and E6750 processors

^ agreed double... go with e6550 and overclock it to 3.0ghz and u got ur self a e6850...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Intel E6550 and E6750 processors

the only thing i don't like about those e6750's and what not is their crap multi... i was gonna get the 6750 until i saw it was an 8 multiplyer! yuckk.... lol but i guess for the price.. who cares... i'm bouncing between an e6700 or q6600 myself
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 04:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: Intel E6550 and E6750 processors

Stock the basic difference you get for the price is the different speed. Both CPUs should hit over 3.0Ghz with a decent overclock. I don't really think going 6750 is that much better than a 6550 besides the bragging rights of a higher CPU. Get the cheaper one and save yourself some money while hitting 3Ghz+.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 05:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Intel E6550 and E6750 processors

my goal will still be 4.0ghz super pi stable... i had 3.99ghz and ran.. i dont' know what super pi... i have to get my picture again.. but i set the record here for air cooling!! WoOoot
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 09:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Intel E6550 and E6750 processors

post back on ur new system....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 09:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Intel E6550 and E6750 processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
the only thing i don't like about those e6750's and what not is their crap multi... i was gonna get the 6750 until i saw it was an 8 multiplyer! yuckk....
The low multiplier dosent really matter, what with the awesome FSB potential of the G0 chips when combined with the the P35 chipset.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 09:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Intel E6550 and E6750 processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
The low multiplier dosent really matter, what with the awesome FSB potential of the G0 chips when combined with the the P35 chipset.
Yea, I was wondering why he was trashing on 8x. But a higher multiplier is better if it is cheaper to get.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.