Intel CPU build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2012, 12:36 AM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: Intel CPU build

SSD is the #1 thing I tell most people to get. They don't simply make your boot times faster, they make anything you store on there (more importantly browser and OS) load quicker. Since all system files are on the SSD the overall feel of the system is snappier.

Thing to remember, a mechanical HDD is the slowest piece of equipment in a modern computer.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 02:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Intel CPU build

Isn't a Radeon HD 7970 faster than a GTX 670?
If so, I'd suggest that he adds 10$ and gets this Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100351SR Radeon HD 7970 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card OC with Boost
__________________

Skorpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 03:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: Intel CPU build

Depends on what case he wants. His max budget is 1000. I left him enough wiggle room to get a pretty solid case and have more decisions.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 03:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Intel CPU build

Is it feasible to run an SSD for a month or two before installing an HHD? Also as far as the graphics card what's the difference between the Sapphire above and this one besides cheaper price?
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100352-2L Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
ChildofOdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 04:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: Intel CPU build

It's perfectly fine to run an SSD without a HDD. I just linked one so you could have some storage space.

7950 is slower than 7970. Bout it. The 7950 is slower than the 670 though.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 04:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Intel CPU build

Oh alright. I do already have a full tower from about 6 years ago, though I'm worried about it keeping the system cool enough. I also have a 600W PSU in the tower which should be enough power, that way I could shift funds around.
ChildofOdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 04:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: Intel CPU build

What are the PSU and case you already have?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:33 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Intel CPU build

The case is an old Compaq tower and the only info I remember about the PSU is its wattage, until I remove it from the Compaq anyway : \
ChildofOdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 11:51 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: Intel CPU build

When you do let me know. Don't want to run a couple grand worth of gear on a cheap PSU that could pop any minute.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 05:57 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
Send a message via Skype™ to J-Dub_
Default Re: Intel CPU build

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Are you high? Samsung's SSDs have been claimed as the most reliable even over Intel, especially the 830. It's the only reason I recommend them.
I beg your pardon? That was a bit rude of you. I have tried Samsung SSD's and they are nowhere near as reliable as OCZ or Seagate. For gaming, they crash if you don't reboot your ystem every 3 - 4 hours. My experience and a couple of other acquaintances. Also, I DO NOT appreciate you implying I am high, I use to think you were not one of the idiots on this forum, but apparently I was mistaken.

The 830 does not stay up with intel's latest series - Just so you know
__________________

J-Dub_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.