intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2009, 07:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

go with an am2+ proccessor like the phenom II 940 black edition with an asus m4a78 mobo and then u can always upgrade to am3. cheap aswell just not ddr3.
__________________

khan008 is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

here is what i decided, should i do it?
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
__________________

river686 is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

No, not a very good board, and its not worth it.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 09:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

i have one other question. if i get a board that is bases on an amd chipset will this effect the performance of an nvidia video card? (GTS 250)
river686 is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 09:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

nope, just can't sli with a amd chipset.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 09:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by river686 View Post
i have one other question. if i get a board that is bases on an amd chipset will this effect the performance of an nvidia video card? (GTS 250)
Nope, no performance drain..

But like Phil said, you can't SLI
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 10:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

so basically i can use a nvidia GPU on the AMD motherboard, but it will only support crossfire. yes?
river686 is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 10:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

Correct
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 12:47 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by river686 View Post
i was looking at the am3 processors and i have heard some good things but the only problem it that i would have to use ddr3 memory, and i don't really want to switch to ddr3 unless it is really worth it for the am3 processor.
You can use AM3 CPU's in AM2+ boards.

Though I think this is probably about the best deal out ATM:
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Duo vs Intel Core 2 Extreme SparksN8 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-15-2009 09:48 AM
core 2 duo or phenom II x3 Thresh25 New Systems | Building and Buying 57 03-13-2009 07:00 PM
Intel core 2 duo e6850 bus speed to rated fsb? ProBaller25 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-21-2008 06:47 PM
Intel E7200 Processor Review maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 04-09-2008 07:16 AM
what kinda CPU for this kinda pc? taekwondo New Systems | Building and Buying 45 12-08-2007 01:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.