intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2009, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

i am going to upgrade my motherboard and processor but i cant decide between intel core 2 duo and amd quad core. my limit for a processor is around $130 and i am mostly only going to be gaming. i am not and enthusiast. i just want a performance boost over an EVGA 730a mobo and amd athlon x2 6000+. if you have a suggestion for a mobo please tell!
__________________

river686 is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

Go with the X4. You can OC it to have a better clock for gaming, and you would also have better multi tasking capabilities.

But if you could fit this Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 920 2.8GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops for $150 it'd be a good amount better.
__________________

__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

i think i could fit that into my buget but do i need the quad core, is it a good future investment? i have heard some good things about the core 2 duo but i have never bought an intel processor before, what do you think of intel? does anyone have any good mobo suggestions.
river686 is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 09:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

I have an Intel Core 2 Duo E8400. I like it. I never lag with multiple programs open. Idk much about AMD motherboards, but I don't think I would recommend any of the Intels over the PII X4 in that price range.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 09:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

how would you feel about going with three cores instead? $120

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor - Processors - Desktops
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 10:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
+1 to that.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 11:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

i was looking at the am3 processors and i have heard some good things but the only problem it that i would have to use ddr3 memory, and i don't really want to switch to ddr3 unless it is really worth it for the am3 processor.
river686 is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 12:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

O.o AM3 socket doesn't require DDR3. Here's a combo Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
With that mobo, it's socket AM2+/AM3. DDR2 memory standard.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 05:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

ok well should i go with the quad core or the AM3? witch one will benefit me more in the future of gaming.
river686 is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
moshkid213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Send a message via AIM to moshkid213
Default Re: intel core 2 duo or amd phenom x4. NEED HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by river686 View Post
i was looking at the am3 processors and i have heard some good things but the only problem it that i would have to use ddr3 memory, and i don't really want to switch to ddr3 unless it is really worth it for the am3 processor.

You can run an AM3 CPU with DDR2. But I think it will Max at 1066Mhz.

What is it...AM2 to 800mhz, AM2+ to 1066mhz, and AM3 to whatever DDR3 clocks at. 1600mhz or something. My systems DDR2 so I havn't looked it up.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom 9950 Agena @ 2.6GHz - DDR2 G.SKILL 4GB 1066Mhz (Next paycheck 8gb) - Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB - GeForce GTX 260 Core Edition Core 216 -

Gateway FX P-7811 (Yes, I have the lockup issue :()

-Lifes simple, you make choices and you dont look back.-
"A good plan, violently executed now, is better than a perfect plan next week."
General George S. Patton
moshkid213 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Duo vs Intel Core 2 Extreme SparksN8 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-15-2009 09:48 AM
core 2 duo or phenom II x3 Thresh25 New Systems | Building and Buying 57 03-13-2009 07:00 PM
Intel core 2 duo e6850 bus speed to rated fsb? ProBaller25 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-21-2008 06:47 PM
Intel E7200 Processor Review maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 04-09-2008 07:16 AM
what kinda CPU for this kinda pc? taekwondo New Systems | Building and Buying 45 12-08-2007 01:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.