Intel build. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2015, 12:09 PM   #21 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Intel build.

650w is plenty for all single GPU applications. Only go 750 if you absolutely will do dual GPU later.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 12:12 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Intel build.

Well, i intend too later, + i'll be going full water cooling hopefully. cpu+gpu
__________________

TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 12:33 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Intel build.

For the extra cash of the added water parts it'd be cheaper to buy a better single GPU and retain the PSU.

Edit: I mean, only do what makes absolute sense. Are you buying 2 300w cards later? If so, then the 750w PSU wouldn't be enough anyways. Are you intending on going with 2 970s and OC both plus the i5? I mean, all 3 overclocked would grant 600ish watt pull from the wall which the 650 can do. That's with pretty hefty OCs on the GPUs. Anything higher would mean you would probably need 850+ worth of PSU. So if it's worth it anyways just to get the 750 then do so for the overhead. After all it's your money.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 01:03 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Intel build.

Okie dokie, I may just get the 750w then, as it's only a few quid more.

*EDIT*

Would i beable to change the mobo for a different one? Same price, maybe a little more expensive, but not too much. So it has dvi/vga connectors on the mobo, as i am around £60 short for my GPU atm. but can order everything tomorrow. Also taken the SSD out, i have a 1TB hd here, so instead of paying out for this SSD, i'll just buy the next best one in a few weeks.
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 07:17 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: Intel build.

Just my 2 cents worth here. Regardless of what power supply you get I'd strongly recommend getting one that is totally modular. Reason being if you don't need to connect a device to the PSU then you don't have to figure out what to do with all the extra wiring.
Makes for a neat and tidy case. Helps with the air flow also if a bunch of unused wires are not in the way. Not going against what PP said but a little lea way in the PSU will let you add more goodies with out having to swap out the PSU later.

I would also venture to point out you like me, are investing a chunk of change in some thing you want to last a good while. Power surges such as those from thunder storms, will make short work of a computer system. Unless you have home owners insurance, if you get zapped you're just out of luck. Therefore I'd recommend getting a good UPS with solid surge protection. I use the APC brand because it's a solid brand name with a good track record. I have the APC BE750G Back-UPS 750VA 10-outlet Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) - Newegg.com. Inexpensive insurance.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 07:58 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Intel build.

I live in the UK. So, we don't really get any storms here, lol. Just rain :P
__________________

TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My First Intel Build (3rd Build overall) Justin2011 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 11-22-2010 12:20 AM
Intel Pentium D vs Intel core 2 duo ? bean59 System Upgrades 13 09-04-2006 01:53 PM
Intel Macs stay at non-Intel prices Osiris Apple and Mac 5 01-13-2006 01:05 AM
Intel Celeron D 3.06 or Intel P4 2.4a ?? lws_junior System Upgrades 9 10-26-2005 11:57 PM
Intel Dual Core 2.8Ghz X Intel 630 3.0Ghz ciroalb Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-10-2005 07:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.