Intel Based Systems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 02:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Default Intel Based Systems

First off, Hello, I found your forum thanks to google and I figured you guys were just the ones to ask about hardware. I have gone with AMD the last 5 years, so now I am going to try an Intel Based System. I am looking at purchasing these components for a new computer,

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion...Based+Computer

My main question is the compatibility of all the parts with one another, especially the Processor to MOBO compatibilty. I believe that everything else matchs up, MOBO supports dual channel DDR2 ram, and a 24 pin power connection, both my power supply and my ram are compliant, I think. Let me know what you think. Thanks guys!
__________________

GeneralZod is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 02:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

cpu/mobo match is good to go...question

you are buying an external psu to swap with what comes with the case? My only slight concern are these current high end gpus and matx cases...can be nightmares
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

don't buy a pentium d..... if your gonna spend 184 dollars on a cpu.. get an intel core 2 duo e6300, its only 219 dollras and will blow that processor away
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 03:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Atomic: I don't exactly trust stock PSU's on cases, so I have another on the order list just to be safe. You think the GPU i have choosen is going to be a problem with the Case? because the motherboard section of the case slides out for instillation.

Nosboost: What is the major difference between the pentium d and a core 2 duo e6300? and will it still fit my motherboard. if it will, I guess an extra 30 bucks couldn't hurt.

Thanks for your quick responses
GeneralZod is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 03:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

Your ram seams very slow, I'd go with PC800 instead.
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 03:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Hm, ok. I had a question about the power supply that i have choosen and my MicroATX case. Do I have to get a MicroATX sized powersupply? or will the coolermax I have choosen work?
GeneralZod is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Hm, I am looking at a pair of of 1gig (2gig total) DDR2 Ram at PC8000 and I don't really want to pay 300+ $'s for ram
GeneralZod is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 06:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Bump.
GeneralZod is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 09:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

yay you! Always wanting to help out on the info trail...I dug some and came up with a review that states this on the case "The good: Power supply included; fits standard micro-ATX motherboards and full-size video cards. " Now that's good and bad, cuz you never know what full size means...if the gpu folks have settled on a max size we're ok.

I have an x1800...that things a huge brick

But the review does make mention of it being tested in SLI so it fits 2 of those cards

haven't found any info on psu sizing but I'm thinking standard atx form factor size...I don't think this uses anything smaller than norm. Pics don't seem to show a resting bottom cage for the psu, so even if what ou buy is larger it may hang a little lower making for underlying components a possible concern BUT I believe you're ok there. I would have bought these types of cases...if not for the fact I didn't want to work too much at figuring out what could fit what
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 09:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default

i woulod def say change the video card. go for a 7600gt, it is cheaper and will run games better.
__________________

luke87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.