Intel or AMD Processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2006, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default Intel or AMD Processor?

I trying to decide on a new notebook to buy for work. One has a 2.0ghz Intel pentium m 760 the other 2.0 ghz AMD turion ml-37 or the mt-37 processor. Pentium i have dealt with, but i don't know much about amd processors. Does anyone have any advice on this matter. Or is the a cheaper processor out there that is faster. i need this laptop for programming, but my company doesn't like to spend money. Thanks in advance!!!
__________________

wicked23 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

How about the Intel Core Duos?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

i looked at them. But duos put the price up to about 2000 i'm trying to keep it below 1500. i'll assume 2 processors running at 1.8 ghz is faster than one at 2.0. Right?
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

The goal is speed at reasonable price. also i've seen duos only stocked with 512mb ram. wouldn't one want a minimum of 1gb ram with duo processor.
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

its not 2 processors.. its 1 processor with 2 cores...

and core duos are a lot better. you don't have to get one that similarly clocked... and 2000? where are you getting these prices from...?

something like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834115224

i'm not saying get this laptop.. i'm just saying something like this..
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

my company deals with pcconnetion.com that's where the prices come from. Most laptops that i am refering too are hgp/compaq. they also have alot from lenovo Inc. which i never heard of. My boss is a leary of going with new products. Acer on the other hand is a name i know.
__________________

__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.