Intel from AMD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2006, 02:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Default Intel from AMD

I get Intel processors on every computer I build but this time im thinking of getting a AMD and was wondering what the comparisons are... I dont know how to say this good but like is 3.0 GHz the same as whatever AMD's is. Like 3.0 GHz is the same as 3800 AMD processor. If you understand me I just want to know what that is. Like 3.4 GHz is the same speed as 4200 and 3.6 is the same as 4400?
__________________

ThisKory is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 03:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

this kind of post has been smashed to dust by so many people... try searching

a general rule is that the number (3000 for example) will be eq to the 3.0 ghz intel processor

so take the AMD number, and divide by 1000 to get how many ghz - APPROXIMATALLY

but please... try searching (its the little button at the top next to FAQ)
__________________

__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 03:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
Like 3.0 GHz is the same as 3800 AMD processor
the 3800+ is roughly equivelant to a 3.8ghz P4 despite only being a 2.4ghz processor
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 09:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

so it DOES work that way.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 01:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

yes it works that way

im glad nobody is gonna argue about which one is better

haha its such an opinionated topic
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 02:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
so it DOES work that way.
Only for AMD 64 series. Not the dual cores or the older ones :O
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 03:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

AMD has stated numerous times that the P-rating is the theoritical speed of the processor if it was running at its "true" clock frequencies...I have no idea what that means and obviously it becomes difficult to intrepret once you get into crap like X2 4800+ however I assume that means the equivelent of roughly a single threaded netburst instruction executed at about ~4.8GHz
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 03:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

A 1.9 Ghz Intel Processor is the same as a 2.0 AMD processor ("Conroe / AM2 standards").


A 2.0 Ghz Processor from AMD is a 3.0 Ghz Intel processor ("Pentium4 / Athlon standards")
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 06:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

Here will go with that Conroe Sh!t agian. is not out yet danm it.
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.