Intel 1333 fsb vs the 1066 fsb chips in overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2007, 10:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Intel 1333 fsb vs the 1066 fsb chips in overclocking

Will the 1333fsb chips have a advantage over the 1066fsb chips? Wouldn't overclocking a 1066fsb chip to 1333fsb make it the same if they had the same multiplyer?

dario03 is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 11:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Intel 1333 fsb vs the 1066 fsb chips in overclocking

Well they will have a higher FSB initially so it will be faster at stock, however yes you can take a C2D which is 266 and up it to 333 and way beyond making the real FSB 1333+ which would then be the same chip. If they overclock very similar though you may get a max of 480 on your chip that was initially only 266 while the new one may hit 550 or something becuase it was initially 333.
So techincally yes you can make your FSB equal to the new ones but the advantages will probably be more power in the end.

We will only know for sure when the benchmarks are released and we see how far the 1333 chips FSB will OC. They might max out around the same as the 1066's even.

Sorry if thats confusing....hard to explain.

E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 12:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Intel 1333 fsb vs the 1066 fsb chips in overclocking

I understand what your saying. What I'm wondering is if they will overclock as good because aren't they suppose to have a lower multiplyer? So a 1333fsb version of the E6600 would only have a 7x multiplyer instead of 9x. So unless they can hit a much higher fsb and you have great ram they seem like a worst chip to have.
dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

« New Case | sky tv »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking An Intel 810? techsquad Overclocking and Modding 5 04-19-2007 08:17 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.