Integrated sound card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2006, 06:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to gamer64amd Send a message via Yahoo to gamer64amd
Default Integrated sound card

I want (yes you heard me right) my onboard soundcard to work. My PCI card was out of date and I'm having problems with it in game.

I want to convert back to my onboard. I took the PCI sound card out plugged my speakers into the audio jacks on my mother board, checked my bios for the onboard sound and it says 'auto' (only options are auto and disabled) and now I have nothing. My VOIP program says I have no recording device, and WMP doesn't play either because there's no audio output. Can someone please help before I rip my hair out?


Or can someone help me update my drivers for my PCI Sound card.

It's a Soundblaster Live! 5.1 Digital

Problem being is when ever I go to the website and download the drivers, go to install them and it says that I don't have a soundblaster soundcard installed.

Can anyone help?

I have it working because windows searched for a driver to get it going.

HELP! I'm going to be driven nuts by this thing! lol

gamer64amd is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 09:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

To get your onboard to work, try uninstalling your old PCI soundcard drivers, and make sure you update the onboard drivers.

AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 11:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
ulater6000's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000

If you cant figure out how to uninstall the drivers, you can download driver removers online.
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700

Yeah you want to disable onboard audio for sure. Had same card and same problem. Try removing battery from motherboard and unplugging computer to reset bios. Wait 30 seconds and try again. Worse comes to worse flash bios, but dont recommend doing so.....
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.