Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2007, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case

Yea, apparently the MSI P6N LSI Platinum motherboard I bought has only two hookups for case USB borts (JUSB1, JUSB2 -- 4 ports). My case has three (JUSB1, JUSB2, JUSB3 -- 6 ports) on the front, and I don't want to leave any dead ports. Is there an add-on or anything I could use to plug in the extra USB ports? I looked at USB PCI cards, but they all have only USB ports on them that I've seen so far, and not the hookups for case ports.

If anyone can point me to an adapter or PCI card that will supply me with at least one additional hookup (and maybe also some additional USB ports on the back), that would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 11:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case

what does the JUSB on the case look like, flat connector or a rectangular one. Thats because each JUSB on the mobo, the two by 4 and 5, supports four ports or two pairs.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case

Each one has nine pins in 2x5 rectangle (with one empty square in the corner). Each one on the case supplies two ports, and if I understand the manual, the ones on the motherboard are the same.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 11:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case

Guess you only get to use two.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 11:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case

Whats the big deal with having some dead ports?
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 11:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumping_Bean514 View Post
Whats the big deal with having some dead ports?
whenever you go to sleep, you think about those two dead ports and how your rig isnt perfect
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 12:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
whenever you go to sleep, you think about those two dead ports and how your rig isnt perfect
rofl if u want usb ports that bad buy a USB 2.0 Hub or get a USB PCI card
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 05:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
whenever you go to sleep, you think about those two dead ports and how your rig isnt perfect
Or because when you're building the system for someone else, or want to sell it, having two dead ports on the front is Really Bad....
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case

If you can solder, you can run lines to the USB port nearby.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 12:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Insufficient Mainboard USB Hookups for Case

A USB PCI card, as Vern suggested, would be a good way to get them plus maybe a firewire port.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.