Installing XP, new comp. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2005, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default Installing XP, new comp.

Hello, I'm building a new computer and I'm really trying to cut some costs... (comp is in signature) If I only pay someone to install the motherboard (I'm 14 and though I do know quite a bit, I don't want to take a risk on breaking something) and if I use my mom's copy of windows XP, is it that hard to install it? I know you most likely need to use a ps2 keyboard to control the BIOS, but is there anything else I need to know?
Links are appreciated if you can't sum it up.
__________________

__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

First of all you should get some experience and install the motherboard yourself. You won't break anything as long as you use common sense.
Hold mobo by the edges and be careful. Use the foam that comes with the motherboard to rest it on when install the CPU & HS&FAN.

As far as windows goes, the only version that you could use, "your moms" would be a Full Retail Version. If your mom has a brand name computer chances are she has an "OEM" version. Which will not work with any other PC, due to special activation upon original installation. (I wouldn't touch illegal copies)

You don't always need a PS/2 mouse/keyboard. I've used USB many times during installation. It depends on the mobo.

If you have any more questions.... there are plenty of people here that can help, just ask.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

So what does OEM version mean?
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Original Equipment Manufacturer. The original manufacturer of a hardware component or sub-component.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 08:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

OR - it's the Operating system that is sold at a lower price to a PC or System builder. This OS can only be used on (1) PC. The original PC that it was installed on. During activation your system specs. are registered along with the CD-Key with microsoft online. That's why they give you 30 days to activate an OEM OS.

You can buy OEM Windows from newegg or other online retailers, but you must buy 2 or hardware components at teh same time.
HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.