Installing Windows on a Partition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2006, 07:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default Installing Windows on a Partition

I should be building my new rig this weekend, and am curious about partitions. What are the advantages and disadvantages of installing windows on a partition, and how would I do this? Thanks

~shando
__________________

Shando is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 07:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Windows will always be installed on a partition, to install an OS you always have to partition the hard disk, even if it is only a single partition; you would like to know the advantage of installing windows on a seperate partition and storing your data on another partition.

There are many advantages. In case of a system crash, you can format the Windows partition without having to worry about your important data (which you should save on the other partition).
It makes organizing your files easier.
You could save your torrents and partially downloaded torrents (or files you download with other P2P programs) on the second partition, and continue downloading after you re-installed your P2P client on your freshly installed operating system.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 146
Default

I've heard that if you have Windows installed on a smaller partition (like 10gb) it runs faster... presumalbly due to less HD space to sift through? Anyone know if this is true?
moisiss is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by moisiss
I've heard that if you have Windows installed on a smaller partition (like 10gb) it runs faster... presumalbly due to less HD space to sift through? Anyone know if this is true?
When using the FAT32 file system on a large partition this is true, not with NTFS. The speed is more related to the file system and the location of the partition on the disk (better performance/lower seektimes at the beginning of the disk).

FAT32 performs better on small partitions, but it would be much slower than NTFS on large partitions, like 100GB or so.
Overall, NTFS is better.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

so how much space should you dedicate to the os? when i did it i did like 30 gb bc i had 2 drives in there but i could/ will change ......
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 02:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 87
Default

depends what you want to install along with it on the same partition. just calculate all of their sizes and then add a bit more space for extra room and system cache.

about 10 gig does me for my xp partition fine. because i like to put office and software i have on cds on the same partition as it isn't as important to back them up as downloaded things.
__________________
http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/9...gfinal2ld2.jpg
__________________
CPU: Intel Q6600 Quad @ 2.4 Ghz per core
Motherboard: ASUS P5B-Deluxe wifi
Hardrives: IDE MAXTOR 80 Gb (Windows)
2x SATA MAXTOR 320 Gbs in raid
Video Card: Nvidia 8800GTS (revised 512mb)
RAM: 6 Gb 667 kingston dual channel
Monitor: ASUS VW192T
Mouse: Microsoft Habu
Power Supply: Topower 1000W
OS: Windows XP x64 edition (to support all ma ram :D)
pat2k5 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 04:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

My XP partition is 20GB; I install all my software on there.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 07:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
My XP partition is 20GB; I install all my software on there.
same, (but mines a little bigger because of BF2/BF2142/Steam). I installed my games/other software on my raptor with the small partition and i use my 250GB Caviar for Torrents/Files.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.