installing second vid card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2006, 03:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to wildwobby
Default installing second vid card

My father just got a new computer...

HP d4100e pavilion customizable computer.

The problem is, he needs 3 monitors to hook up!

The videocard installed is a Nvidia 7300 LE. I do have a PCI ATi Radeon 9100 laying around which has both a VGA and DVI which would work... but the question is how should I install it?

wildwobby is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130

just stick it in, update the driver, then connect the monitors.

john3 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to wildwobby

even though one is Nvidia and one is ATi?
wildwobby is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 10:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686

Ummm no that would not work. you would need 2 compatible same brand cards that support it. I say you go out and buy one more 7300 LE.
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 09:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 58
Send a message via Yahoo to Edward

Since when do you need two same brand cards he isint talking about SLI or Crossfire. I have never heard of ati and nvidia in the same system but othere different brands work ati and nvidia should work. Best of luck.
(\\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(=\'.\'=) signature and help him on his way
(\")_(\") to world domination
Edward is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 06:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to wildwobby


I did try it it only worked after i installed the ati drivers and rebooted... after the next reboot the
Nvidia drivers stopped working so I had to un install the atis and re install the nvidia... im gonna go out and buy a Nvidia FX5200 128mb... would that work?


wildwobby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.