installing OS fails - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2008, 01:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default installing OS fails

I have tried installing XP and 2000. Both give me blue screen errors after loading the CD's. Is there something wrong with my hard drive?
__________________

xbox122501 is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 01:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: installing OS fails

by blue screen errors i mean, after the cd loads, it immediatly cuts off and give me a blue screen that says something like, remove any newly installed hard drives, unaccessable hard drive, hard drive's data may be corrupted.
__________________

xbox122501 is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: installing OS fails

do you have anything like flash drives inserted?? i was having a similar problem not too long ago.. take out all items that are not needed upon boot... so pretty much just leave your keyboard in
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: installing OS fails

Did it give a STOP error code? If so, you should let us know what that is, b/c it could give us a bigger idea of what the problem could be. the STOP error code should be at the bottom, and will be in this format: 0x000000## where '##' will either be numbers, letters, or both.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: installing OS fails

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
do you have anything like flash drives inserted?? i was having a similar problem not too long ago.. take out all items that are not needed upon boot... so pretty much just leave your keyboard in
yo nosboost, im gonna do that thing u n that other guy suggested me doing to format my HDD correctly or whatever, remember:

cant reinstall OS, error showing up!

been busy playing SSBB, best freakin game for Wii! I'll do that CD thing tomorrow, k? Do u really think this will fix my problem? What if it doesnt?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: installing OS fails

i don't see why it wouldnt
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 10:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: installing OS fails

i only have a monitor and a keyboard pluged in when trying to install the OS. right now i have class but when i get back ill look up that stop error.
xbox122501 is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: installing OS fails

I boot up with the windows 2000 cd in the drive after the cd loads everything it cuts off and give me this:

STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF6863848, 0x00000034, 0x00000000)
INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE

It also does the same with windows xp
xbox122501 is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default Re: installing OS fails

The specs on the board. Is it a Sata Drive (your HD)? I'm getting the impression that you need to go into the bios and define the current HD as the primary Hard drive. I'm just guessing because, otherwise, it makes no sense unless you have a bad memory stick.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: installing OS fails

From M$'s site:

Advanced troubleshooting for "Stop 0x0000007B" errors in Windows XP

Could try some things they suggest on there, I suppose.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Vista new build partition or not? GvGuy39 System Upgrades 4 03-02-2008 10:24 PM
Installing Vista with 4GB installed. Neodr31 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 12-19-2007 02:30 PM
Problems installing... Toryn Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 11-05-2007 01:46 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Installing a new HD in windows XP DocShady Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-13-2007 03:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.