Installing OCZ Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2010, 09:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 220
Default Installing OCZ Ram

Are these typically hard to clip in? A friend of mine said it just might need some 'working in'. But I don't want to flex the motherboard too much.

Mobo : EVGA E758-A1 Intel X58 ATX

Ram : OCZ Gold 6GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
__________________

Jake is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 09:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Installing OCZ Ram

Not really. Just follow the instructions which comes with the RAM and you should be fine There will be similar instructions in the motherboard manual.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 10:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 220
Default Re: Installing OCZ Ram

I did that. The slots are lined up. It's an expensive motherboard and I don't want to damage it, so I was wondering how much pressure is needed/ safe.
Jake is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Installing OCZ Ram

It helps to put the RAM in the motherboard before you put the motherboard in the case - that way you can put the mobo on a flat surface and there's no chance of bending it.

But, you can put plenty of pressure on it. Sometimes I've needed to put my palm on top the RAM and then lean on it to get it to in.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 11:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Installing OCZ Ram

and also make sure that the notch found on the ram module lines up with the ram slots on the motherboard.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 02:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 99
Default Re: Installing OCZ Ram

They can be surprisingly hard to put in. When I built my computer it took me forever to realize what the problem was, and it turned out I didn't have the ram pressed in hard enough. You'll want to press it until you get a noticeable click. I pressed it a little, and it felt like it was sliding in. but if you keep pressing you'll get a "snap".
JayMiller8080 is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 11:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 220
Default Re: Installing OCZ Ram

Thanks all- problem resolved. I got my friend to do it- he had more experience but he also had bigger stronger hands...

It seems that with the newer higher profile ram you need to position your hands beneath the mobo... it takes more force, and there's less of a noticeable 'click'.
__________________

Jake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ram overclock apsoul Overclocking and Modding 1 10-09-2009 05:04 AM
OCZ platinum 1066mhz SLI 5-5-5-15 ram RichM499 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 11-20-2008 04:49 AM
Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 69 11-16-2008 03:26 AM
Problem Posting After Ram Upgrade skylinegtrv98 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-28-2008 02:53 PM
RAM....OCZ or Patriot kpmwrestler Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 10 01-27-2008 10:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.