installing new fan today. air blow in or out - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2006, 09:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
korky122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to korky122
Default installing new fan today. air blow in or out

what direction should the fan face. its a 120mm fan for the back of the case. should air be blowing in or out. this is the only fan on the case.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Quad @ 2.5ghz (slacr)
3 gigs corsair xms2 ram
8800 gt 512 mb superclocked
Windows Vista
korky122 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 10:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Default

It should be blowing air out of the case, so that air will come in the front. There are other ventilation holes right? Otherwise you wouldn't be doing much.

Although I guess it really doesn't matter, it would be better to be pushing air out through the back and pulling in from the front, rather than pulling in from the back and just blowing air out through the front. I guess it also depends on where the fan is.
__________________

__________________
Come join the Expiration Date Forums! Discussion boards for everything from lucid dreaming to movies & TV to webcomics, and more!
visionRAY is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 10:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

I agree, it is contingent on the placement of your other fans, do you have a picture of your case? My best guess would be you want the fan blowing out, but thats if you have another fan blowing in on the front or side of the case.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 10:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
korky122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to korky122
Default

there is a fan in the front, but i dont know if it is blowing air in. i dont think its plugged in. my power supply did not come w/ the right plug. its a molex but it cant plug into power supply molex. i think thats wat its called. is it possible to buy an adaptor.

sry if i have u confused.
__________________
Core 2 Quad @ 2.5ghz (slacr)
3 gigs corsair xms2 ram
8800 gt 512 mb superclocked
Windows Vista
korky122 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 11:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Default

Oh so you have another fan, but it just isn't plugged in. Yeah you can probably find an adaptor somewhere; I know some fans come with them, doesn't sound like yours did though (wait..no, why doesn't it work again? sorry). If it's in the front, it is almost certainly an intake fan. If you're only going to have one fan in your case (working, that is) it should be an exhaust like you are doing now.
__________________
Come join the Expiration Date Forums! Discussion boards for everything from lucid dreaming to movies & TV to webcomics, and more!
visionRAY is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 12:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
korky122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to korky122
Default

http://www.viperlair.com/images/revi...-cruiser_1.jpg
__________________
Core 2 Quad @ 2.5ghz (slacr)
3 gigs corsair xms2 ram
8800 gt 512 mb superclocked
Windows Vista
korky122 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 01:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

blow out

__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 09:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
korky122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to korky122
Default

wow, the new fan did a lot. the temp on my video card is under 40*C when playing bf2. usually around 32*C when not doing anything
__________________
Core 2 Quad @ 2.5ghz (slacr)
3 gigs corsair xms2 ram
8800 gt 512 mb superclocked
Windows Vista
korky122 is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 02:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

good to hear, if your front fan isnt working right now, try blowing in from the back, I bet you drop a few more degrees
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.