installing new computer on existing system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2008, 02:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shortstop20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 251
Default installing new computer on existing system

I'm installing a new motherboard on my system because my existing mobo crapped out. Am I going to experience any trouble with Windows Vista SP2 when I switch out the motherboard? Not sure if it's going to report to Microsoft that it's on a different mainboard now or not(giving them piracy suspicions?).

I was thinking I should probably delete the drivers for the Onboard LAN, Audio, IDE controllers, etc. before I shut it down for the last time before I install the new motherboard. I don't see any reason to keep those drivers?

I'm certain I put too much thermal paste on the CPU last time, I've read that a person should spread the thermal grease very, very thin to the point where you can almost see through it. Good practice or no?

Is there anything else I'm missing or that I should do?

EDIT: The title was supposed to be "new motherboard on existing system". My brain is rattled today.
__________________

__________________
BIOSTAR TA790GXB Mobo - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core Black Edition Win 7 Pro 64-bit
OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB DDR2 800 Dual Channel -
Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120 mm Core-Contact Freezer CPU Cooler - Antec Truepower 2.0 480W PS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB SATA HDD - Seagate 120GB SATA HDD
Plextor PX716A DVD-R/RW - LG DVD-ROM - Hauppage PVR-250 TV Tuner - Antec Silver Aluminum Case
shortstop20 is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: installing new computer on existing system

Yeah it could get a bit buggy on you. You may need to do a repair install to clean it up. If possible I would do a clean install. You can always call microsoft to reactivate after all of the "virus" problems you had.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 02:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shortstop20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 251
Default Re: installing new computer on existing system

I haven't had any virus problems, not sure what you're referring to.
__________________
BIOSTAR TA790GXB Mobo - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core Black Edition Win 7 Pro 64-bit
OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB DDR2 800 Dual Channel -
Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120 mm Core-Contact Freezer CPU Cooler - Antec Truepower 2.0 480W PS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB SATA HDD - Seagate 120GB SATA HDD
Plextor PX716A DVD-R/RW - LG DVD-ROM - Hauppage PVR-250 TV Tuner - Antec Silver Aluminum Case
shortstop20 is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 03:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: installing new computer on existing system

He probably means tell them that so they don't give you problems with activating the windows. I don't know if they do but I think they used to consider a new motherboard as a new computer. And I'm guessing thats what he is talking about.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 04:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shortstop20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 251
Default Re: installing new computer on existing system

Oh, my bad, I understand now. I guess I never really thought about when he had virus in quotes. I'll see if I can get by without having to call them, hopefully I can. If not I'll use that excuse.
__________________
BIOSTAR TA790GXB Mobo - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core Black Edition Win 7 Pro 64-bit
OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB DDR2 800 Dual Channel -
Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120 mm Core-Contact Freezer CPU Cooler - Antec Truepower 2.0 480W PS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB SATA HDD - Seagate 120GB SATA HDD
Plextor PX716A DVD-R/RW - LG DVD-ROM - Hauppage PVR-250 TV Tuner - Antec Silver Aluminum Case
shortstop20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
New computer system and new user :). Pastasauce New Systems | Building and Buying 15 08-09-2007 06:33 PM
installing windows on new computer problems? darsunt Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-18-2007 05:48 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.