Improving HD Data Transfer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2011, 06:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SA, Australia
Posts: 90
Default Improving HD Data Transfer

My machine is in my sig (or should be).

I've run the windows7 "performance rating" thingy. I get 7.5 for processor, 7.5 for RAM, 7.8 for graphics (both of them) and then 5.8 for data transfer.

Two questions,

1) Is the windows7 performance rating accurate?
2) Is there any way to improve the data transfer to & from my hard drive without getting a different drive?

I'm assuming windows7 is optimized for either SSDs or atleast HDs @ 10k RPM... Which mine is only 7.2k....

Cheers,
Tenk.
__________________

__________________
My AMD Machine:
1090T Phenom II
Patriot Signature 1333 DDR3 4GB
ASROCK 890GM
PowerColor Radeon HD 6870
1TB WD 7200rpm SATA3
Win7
-Tenk- is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 04:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 148
Default Re: Improving HD Data Transfer

I'm no pro but iv heard on here before that the windows performance rating is just a gimmick and can be manipulated easily.
__________________

_SomeOne_ is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Improving HD Data Transfer

Yeah the Win7 performance rating is useless really, don't make any decisions based off the scores it gives you. If you've got a SATA3 drive, make sure it's plugged into a Sata 3 port on your mobo. Defrag, and delete any old files.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-28-2011, 11:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
4P_Bulldozer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 205
Default Re: Improving HD Data Transfer

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tenk- View Post
... Is there any way to improve the data transfer to & from my hard drive without getting a different drive? ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
...Defrag, and delete any old files.
__________________
Bulldozer Will Rule.

http://img.tineye.com/result/adb2576...a2f274a8433fda Got a question, try the Search Bar.
4P_Bulldozer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer data from old hdd to new hdd winxpuser50 Laptops and Notebooks 0 06-30-2010 10:16 AM
Transfer Data via USB...between 2 PCs ??? mark4man Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 03-26-2009 06:07 AM
transfer data funkywaggnelz Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-16-2007 12:45 PM
first HD transfer data to second HD ubeyou Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-27-2006 01:59 AM
Transfer data pc-noobie Microsoft Windows and Software 4 08-18-2006 12:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.