Ima get me some Hard Drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2009, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Ima get me some Hard Drives

Aight folk. Hanukkah is just around the corner and I think I deserve to get myself a gift.

I currently have a 500GB internal Seagate 7200.10 32mb cache, which I backup to a 500GB Seagate external. I'm in need of some more space.

So I'm thinking about getting 2 1TB internal drives. I refuse to have any data not backed up because I would cry if I lost all of my stuff. I have a few extra hdd bays and sata ports, and I never unplug my current external drive, so I see no reason not to backup to an internal drive.

I'll probably keep my OS and programs on my current 500gb internal and move my videos, music, and pics to the 1TB drive (backing up to another 1TB drive).

My Seagate isn't too loud, but I wouldn't mind if it were a bit quieter, so I was thinkin about going WD this time.

I see that these are $85 w/ free shipping right now: Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Is it ok to go with the Green line if I'm just using it for data? If I decide to install my OS and programs on it later, will it run slower?

$25 (x2) difference to get the Black ones... Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drives -Bare Drive

This Samsung one is $85 (no free shipping ): Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Any other recommendations? I'm also not set on my idea of getting 2 1TB internal drives if anyone else has a better idea given my current situation.

Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 04:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Ima get me some Hard Drives

green series is fine for backup purposes, I run a 500GB myself

it might be a tad bit slower than the black if you use it as OS drive
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 09:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Ima get me some Hard Drives

I've heard that the greens are surprisingly painfully slow when used as the primary.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 10:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Ima get me some Hard Drives

i use a Green 1TB as my primary drive and personally i have never had an issue with it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 12:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: Ima get me some Hard Drives

Wouldn't it be better to have your backup on external drive so that if PSU goes poof, its not connected powerwise to the backup hdd? Thats just my hunch, no real evidence for it.

Also you may want to consider rebit back-up software in tandem with an external drive.
Review here Perfect Consumer Backup With Seagate And Rebit : Is Seagate?s Replica The Perfect Backup Device? - Review Tom's Hardware

Im gettin the standalone software for x-mas, going to pair it with my own external hdd i bought separately.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 03:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: Ima get me some Hard Drives

Is that true? Does the fact that it's running through the same power supply matter for backup purposes? If that's the case, then maybe I should be getting an external for the backup drive.
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Ima get me some Hard Drives

Yeah I thought that anything connected to a PSU that fails is at potential risk of failing also including hard drives...?
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: Ima get me some Hard Drives

Sound pretty unsure about that lol - anyone confirm?
__________________

__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reliable External Hard Drives Chazzer3 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-16-2009 05:03 AM
Hard Drives NickPapageorgio New Systems | Building and Buying 33 01-06-2009 02:47 PM
Icons for hard disc drives. mssssee2 Web Graphics and Design 6 01-05-2008 03:34 PM
Control Engineering Win2000/Remote Control Software, Going Network david55 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-28-2007 10:06 AM
IDE Hard Drives objecterror Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 07-14-2007 01:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.