Im Stuck With AGP?!?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2006, 09:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Im Stuck With AGP?!?!

O **** i just realized that I have an agp motherboard and an agp 6800gs w/ a pentium 4?!?

Ok i was saving up money for a new gfx card when i realized that i would need to buy an entirely different motherboard, to support PCI-Express.. and when i do that, i will prolly need to upgrade my cpu, so then later on i wont have to get a new mobo and a new cpu...

I knw this is confusing, i just wanted you guys to know about it

Im about to cry... i dont have that sorta money, i dont even have a job (because im 14 not becuase im a slacker )

This was a big mistake i made along time ago by getting an AGP motherboard becuase i thought that it was better because it was more money.... this was also b4 i started using the forums so i was completely clueless to what i was doing. Thank god i didnt blow my self up
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Don't worry man, for all we know, there might be a new type of slot to accommodate the new DX10 cards, and then all of us w/ pci-e will be crying as well. Just keep saving your money man, do some jobs like mowing lawns, making websites, etc.
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

your right, its going to happen again...
Right now im getting a new harddrive and headphones for my mp3 player, because im running out of hardrive space, and my grandma needs her 10gb harddrive back (im serious) im using it for some of my music/movies

For some reason, i just kinda think that i should just get back into the console... and continue this computer upgrading thing when i have the money... the only reason i have this computer, is because i got lucky and got 300 to start upgrading with
alexsabree is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 10:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

just mow grass, its what i do (although i will have to get a real job soon ), you can actualy make good money over a couple of weeks, i mean come on it took me 2 1/2 weeks to get enough money to buy new RAM ($115), thats not bad money considering a kid of my age
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 10:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

well yeha that would work.. if my mom would let me

I get paid for just gettin good grades and doing chores.. i get around $30 a week

But my mom only lets me get computer stuff when she is in a super super super super good mood....
alexsabree is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 10:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

so you tellin me she limits what YOU can buy with YOUR OWN money?? I mean as long as you arent buyin porn or sellin and buying drugs LOL that is just stupid.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

****... You will have to wait awhile. I would try to make as much money as you can and ask for it all for christmas. You may have to spend your money toio but well worth it.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 01:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

yeah.. thats what im saying.. i have to ask to use my own money

Really its all because i have to use her credit card to get computer hardware online (no retail stores sell em near by)
to her she feels as tho she is paying for it, even if i give her the money

So, i can only get to buy stuff when she is real real real happy
alexsabree is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 02:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

omg my dad does teh same thing and i worck and make my own money and he got mad because i bought age of empires 3 but now he plays it like 8 hours a day instead of sleeping and i ern my own money in wich he has no conection to how bad is that and they will probably make a slot type fast enuf tp suply u power without pin conectors altho it is very hard to get faster then pci-e x16 from what ive herd so it will probably be around for a very long time so i sugest u get it and try saving money sell soem odl things u dont need anymore like try ur own garage sale i did when i was ur age and made like 350 in a day and sell some of ur older parts liek ur 6800 some of my friends game lightly on theer pc so i sell em my old parts so they can play a few games like wow or strong holds anyway try those thing oh and if u are good at any subject at school try tutoring do what ever u can to make money think outside of the box and ul have more money then u need in no time trust me
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 03:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

You could just have a an uncle that will order your stuff for you ( )
i understand how there isnt any stores around that sell comptuer stuff (same here) but its cheaper online
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.