im so confused - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2006, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 24
Default im so confused

fixed my chipset now like i have a xfx geforce 7300. i know have three gigs of ram. i tried to play half life 2 episode one but it is soooooo slow and lagy. compared to when i had 1 gig of ram and a evga 6800gt. now i though i would be upgrading cards from a 6800 to 7300. whats the deal?
__________________

asusman is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 11:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

defrag your hdd.... see if that helps...
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 12:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

What kind of mobo do you have first off... You won't run dual channel (If it can) with an odd number RAM... Take out a GB. With video card, the second number is the most important. IMO you actually went to a pretty sad card from the 6800. The 7300 reputation sucks. put your 6800 back in and sell the 7300... then get a 7600 or better card...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 12:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

7300 is a horrible card. Re-install the 6800 and you'll be in good shape. Remember, kids, the #200/#300 cards share your main RAM and are slower than frozen molasses.
Orayn is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 12:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default Re: im so confused

Quote:
Originally posted by asusman
fixed my chipset now like i have a xfx geforce 7300. i know have three gigs of ram. i tried to play half life 2 episode one but it is soooooo slow and lagy. compared to when i had 1 gig of ram and a evga 6800gt. now i though i would be upgrading cards from a 6800 to 7300. whats the deal?
Hold on, back the bus up. Since when is a 7300 and upgrade from a 6800GT. I have a 6800GS, and get 2243 in 3DMark06. A comparable system with a 7300 gets 804. That means that the 6800GS/GT nearly triples the performance of a 7300.

Sorry to say it, but you actually severly downgraded your system.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 01:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

take out a gig of ram. its not helping
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 12:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

That's not the issue: He downgraded his graphics card.
__________________

Orayn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.