Im Saved - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2007, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Talking Im Saved

Just when i thought i couldnt get a new pc because an ebay auction sold for 75 pounds less than expected my dad saved me . he will be getting a bonus in febuary and will give me £100, and by then prices will of dcreased slightly and i will of earned some more money... So in actuall fact i might be able to get a better pc than in the first place + as a present for him he will be buying Windows Vists Premium 3 Pack (we have 3 pc's) OEM edition (Only £70 Each ! compared to 180 retail) Bargain.


Thanks guys, and it seems i will be needing your help for a little longer and will be able to put it to use after all.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Glad to hear the good news. Let us now when you're ready to start planning and we'll give you a hand.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Well im always planning as i find it fun .

Anyway i was THINKIG of:

Core 2 Duo E6300
gainward Golden Bliss Nvida 7900GS
1GB PC 5300 DDR2 Ram
Asrock compatible Mobo
Xclio 500Watt PSU
Akasa ZEN Black Case
LG Black DVD Writer
250GB Western Digital Caviar 16MB Cache.


What im wondering is how well will Battlefield 2142 run on this ?
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 07:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

It will run great prolly max settings
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 08:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

especially now i realised i can afford 2Gb of Ram
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Even if you do it for fun, you still need to have an approx. budget in mind.

As for your question, that build will probably run BF 2142 on max settings. My rig runs BF2 on max settings, and consider a 7900GS owns my 7600GT by as much as 25%.

The only modification I'd make is to upgrade the memory to 667Mhz memory. Conroes benefit from increased memory bandwidth up to 667Mhz.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

PC2-6400 isn't that much more expensive than PC2-5300, just get that, it'll let you overclock much farther.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 07:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Yeh but it is much more expensive.

I do have a budget in mind anyway somewere between a minimum of 430 and maximum of 550.

the 2GB of ram is only with the 500+ Budget though
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 07:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default

would a 7800 run bf2142 on max settings?
__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 07:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Default

Just buy a Intel Core 2 duo quad extreme and drool over it when you get bored.
__________________

M0rga is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.