im new. Heres my pc spec - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 03:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

it says AGP version 2.0
__________________

Turbo Boi is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

so am i limited to grafics cards if my mother board only takes agp cards?
__________________

Turbo Boi is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/104123 think this card is anygood?
Turbo Boi is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Yea, you can't get a PCI-Express video card. But there are new AGP video cards that are very good.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

might get that card then with some extra ram and see how i go, what do you reckon?
Turbo Boi is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:55 PM   #16 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

agp 2.0 limits u to not very good cards. that 7800gs is 8x speed but ur slot can only go up to 2x. that means ur not getting nearly the bandwidth speed that the 7800 can give u, therefore a lower card would give u very similar performance.

u can get that card for sure but im not sure it would be worth the money. i suggest either u get a stick of 512MB ddr-400 kingston ram and that card or u completely revamp ur computer if u have the money.

pci-e are the new video card slots with 16x bandwidth which gives much better performance than agp and u can get a good motherboard with pci-e and the same socket as ur celeron (im guessing 478 or 775, the two newest). pci-e cards tend to be a few dollars (or pounds) cheaper than the same version in agp. plus pci-e will give u room to expand later on .

although if ur celeron is a socket 478 (u can find this info on the first page of cpu-z under processor beside package) u'll have trouble finding a mobo (motherboard) with a pci-e slot
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 04:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

think my slot goes up to 4x, not that 4x is much better
Turbo Boi is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 04:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I used a 6600GT with AGP 4x and I was fine.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 04:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Kid, if you ask me and have the money, in a month buy a whole new computer either powerd by a conroe or by the discounted dual cores AMD x2's... with a PCI-E Slot and a decet graphic card and ram.... would be a lot better, you'r cpu is not a very good one (an 1.8ghz athlon would be 20 times better I believe, lol)... you'r mobo is outdated and has been for the last 6 years now and I don't want to talk of you'r video card, it makes me sad.

Probably you could re-use:

Optical DVD Drive, Hard disk, keyboard, mouse, monitor.. about the rest, maybe charity can use it, probably not.. lol =x

I'm not trying to be offensive but the memory is probably 133MHz, the cpu is not very good although not that outdated and the mother board is so old that you should check under it if it has grown any beard.

Just a word of advice, It may came out a little offensive and I'm sorry if it did, its late here and im a little tired =x.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 04:17 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

no i like the honesty, i would be gutted if i bought a load of stuff and found out it was slow and crap still for the games (for online games)

i might just buy a xbox 360 instead lol, but pc games look far better to me
__________________

Turbo Boi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.