im new. Heres my pc spec - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 02:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Thumbs up im new. Heres my pc spec

Processor Intel Celeron (0.18u) 2727MHz
Display Card S3 Graphics ProSavage
Memory 256MB
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP
Free Disk Space 51.63GB
Display Card Memory 32MB
Display Driver Version 6.14.1.7
DirectX Version 9.0c
Optical Drive DVD
Sound Card VIA AC'97 Audio (WAVE

is it worth me upgrading my pc? i would like to be able to play latest games, battlefield ect, would i be able to get away with upgrading the grafics card and adding more ram?

any help would be great
__________________

Turbo Boi is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

You need at least a gig of memory and a 6600GT at minimum if you want to game. Celeron isnt that great but it will work.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 02:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

sorry whats a 6600GT im not really up with the computer tech stuff?
Turbo Boi is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Nvidia graphics card gpu model. Check out www.newegg.com . Buy the evga version.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 02:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

i see, will that card work with the rest of my pc? if i get that card and more memory will my pc be half decent for gaming? or will that still be below average spec?
Turbo Boi is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 02:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

It will be around average to below average. Check to see what slots your motherboard has ie AGP 4x/8x or PCI-e 16x. This will determine the interface needed on the card you buy.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 02:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

how can i find that out?
Turbo Boi is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 02:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Open it and look. Is this a Dell/HP/Compaq PC?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

its a TIME
Turbo Boi is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:06 PM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

download cpu-z at www.cpuid.com. click on the link u see that says 'Download version 1.35' (the current version). should be the first program there. then install it.

open the program up (it doesnt create shortcuts so u have to know where u installed it to) and click on the mainboard tab at the top. then look at the bottom where it says graphic interface and tell us what it says beside version.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.