I'm an [idiot] - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2006, 07:07 PM   #31 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

The mtbf(mean time between failure) of the Silverstone is 100,000hours. The Antec is 80,000. Just that the Silverstone is designed to last 20,000 more hours. Its also around 80% effecient (antec 70%). So the Silverstone will waste less power. If you look inside the Silverstone is better designed, better air flow (thats why they last longer). Its just a better PS.

I am not trying to say yours sucks. It dosent, the Antec is ok and the Aspire is ok too, Just the Silverstone is better. And since the PS is the backbone of your comp it should be a good one.

I use a Silverstone Strider 400 to run my rig and I have 4 HDDs,SLI and a Opty 148 with fans and lights too.

l
__________________

__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 07:16 PM   #32 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

bah.. i don't think i'd ever use a psu to its actual life time....
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 07:29 PM   #33 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 97
Default

So there isn't any noticable difference between the 3800 and the 4200?

Also, I meant to link to the 7600gt instead of that saphirre.

Here is the list as of now then:

170 - vid card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130283

80 - ram
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141423

70 - mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188002

90 - psu
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817256001

169 - cpu
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562

0 - case
???


80 - hd
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701
ShortThrow is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 07:42 PM   #34 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

First it would be very hard to see diff between 4200 and 3800.
Second it looks good but ur going backwards on the mobo/CPU.
You want to get the AM2 version(newest gen)
here are 2 for a good deal
mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138026

CPU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103735

that would be a very nice comp...

EDIT: Memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227077
__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 07:49 PM   #35 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

if h e is going AM2 he needs DDR2 aswell.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 07:58 PM   #36 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

Well before, he had a socket 939 motherboard with an AM2 CPU, with DDR2 RAM, so he has to pick either socket 939 or socket AM2.
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:02 PM   #38 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

perfect!
__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:04 PM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

Looks good. One question, how are you going to run software without a CD/DVD drive?

Other than that, looks good and everything looks compatable.

EDIT: Wait, nevermind.
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:06 PM   #40 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by viperman5000
Looks good. One question, how are you going to run software without a CD/DVD drive?

Other than that, looks good and everything looks compatable.

EDIT: Wait, nevermind.
As of now I'm planning on using my current drive and case...but we'll see.


Also, will this MB be better than the one I have most recently linked above?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128010
__________________

ShortThrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.