I'm in a Crysis... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2006, 09:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default I'm in a Crysis...

Hey folks,

Just wanted some opinions: I am really looking forward to Crysis and I would like to know what the tech-saavy guru's out there would do. I like to play games at no less than 90-95% of Maximum settings.

Bearing in mind the three major factors (as I perceive them) on the horizon, what would you do?

Windows Vista
DX10
AMD quad-core

.. and the new reigning champs, Intel's Core-Duo lineup .

I am partial to AMD, but I have used Intel and am not opposed to returning to their CPU's.

I am starting to save for my next major overhaul (early next year) and would like to start thinking about direction.

Thanks for your input.
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

well vista is not out yet. there is no DX10 cards and no realse date for crysis. so just wait and relax.
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it's recommended to have a 7900 GT / X1900 XT for good settings.

apparently, Nvidia are releasing their new card at the end of this year (8000 series) and ATI will follow sometime afterwards.

a Core 2 Duo will be great for it though.

and it's probabbly best to have 2GB RAM
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by efd753
well vista is not out yet. there is no DX10 cards and no realse date for crysis. so just wait and relax.
Thank you.... I should enjoy the "here and now".

okay... ooohhhhmmmm... I'm relaxing
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default

I'd say you'd do well with Either the G80 or R600, 2GB DDR2 and an Intel core 2 Duo proc
Shando is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 11:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

i hope crysis comes out later this year/Q1 next year, that game looks awsome.

but someone from the dev team was playing it at E3, so they were probably not using anything mroe than a 7900GTX or a X1900XTX(was that out when E3 was on?) 2gb of ram, and a realy high end amd or intel chip.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 03:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

You'll pretty much have to wait till the games almost out or is out before you can know what you'll need for sure.
dario03 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

probably using a physics card as well.. there's just too much crap in there going on to not use a physics card.. moving clouds, moving surroundings.. everything moves and destroys.. maybe this is what we were waiting for with the physics card
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

X1900XTX is the one card out right now that is guaranteed to max out Crysis, but it doesn't do it well and only gets about 30 fps. Wait for the G80/R600 and you will have one probe.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
X1900XTX is the one card out right now that is guaranteed to max out Crysis, but it doesn't do it well and only gets about 30 fps. Wait for the G80/R600 and you will have one probe.
It's still too early to know what will or will not "max out" crysis. they still havn't gone through the optimization stage of the game so maybe even a 7800 gtx can max out the game at a steady frame rate(in directx 9 of course). Also the x1900xtx, as beedubaya said, was used at e3 so at least we know it can run it maxed out and maybe even get a better average than 30 fps after the game is optimized.
__________________

__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.