I'm Confused mobo & cpu question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2009, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MA/FL
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to LowLife
Default I'm Confused mobo & cpu question

Is this cpu
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor - Processors - Desktops

compatible with this mobo?
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA790FXT-UD5P AM3 DDR3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

because the newegg description says the mobo supports AM3 ONLY but it also says
it supports phenom II X4


LowLife is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 05:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
H4x3r's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: I'm Confused mobo & cpu question

no it will not work, while an AM3 processor will work in an AM2+ board, an am2+ processor will NOT work in an AM3 board....kinda confusing...also the DDR3 means that it is not backwards compatible with DDR2

only these processors which are AM3 will work in that board
Newegg.com - Computer Hardware,CPUs / Processors,Processors - Desktops,AMD,Socket AM3,

H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Black.Ice. Send a message via MSN to Black.Ice.
Default Re: I'm Confused mobo & cpu question

Like clown said, the PII 940 won't work on AM3 boards.

However, there's no point in switching to AM3 now, because there's no real actual performence gain.

Stick with the 940 and go with this mobo.

GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

I use it and it's a sturdy beast.
$500 rig ftw: :D

Case: CM 690 Black ATX Mid Tower
Mobo ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe AM2 nForce 590 SLI
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Black Edition @ 3.2GHz 23 C idle 37 load :O
GFX: 8600 GT XXX 256 mb :(
RAM: Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 mhz PC2 6400
HDD: Seagate Barracuda ST3320620AS 320GB 7200 RPM w/ Slave Western Digital Caviar WD800BB 80GB 7200 RPM
HSF: Zalman CNPS9700 LED 110mm 2 Ball
PSU: CM eXtreme Power Dual 12V rails @ 36A 650W

Tee Hee!
Black.Ice. is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954
Default Re: I'm Confused mobo & cpu question

AMD HDZ940XCGIBOX Phenom II X4 3.00 GHz AM2+ 4 x 512KB Desktop Processor Retail at ZipZoomfly
The 940 is $169 right now at ZZF.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 09:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
james.wired's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: I'm Confused mobo & cpu question

Crap now i am getting all antsy in my pantsy. Newegg also dropped their price on the 940 but to $189! I originally wanted the 720 build (Hikaris) and now I see the x3 720 is $133.00 at ZZF! ($140 at the egg)...****, what to do?? Gaming is where it's at for me..but $36 difference, will I use 4 cores?
james.wired is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 09:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
H4x3r's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: I'm Confused mobo & cpu question

right now any 4 core system (or really any dual past E6600) won't be the bottleneck on graphics, it's usually the graphics card that is. But who knows what will be released down the road that will use all four cores.

But of course that's just with games. Applications and such (if using an x64 OS) will use all four cores (single threads stacking of course) and it will help with multi-tasking

H4x3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best CPU I can get............ hesson81 System Upgrades 15 02-12-2009 07:44 PM
Mobo buying question. Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-20-2008 06:02 PM
ASUS m2n sli deluxe mobo problem. possibly cpu galvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-24-2007 01:04 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 10:52 PM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 09:55 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.