im changing my mobo, do i have to reinstall windows? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2005, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to JeffGoneWild
Default im changing my mobo, do i have to reinstall windows?

im going from a jetway pt88bs socket t board to a ASUS P5P800 Socket T (LGA 775) Intel 865PE ATX Intel Motherboard almost same specs. and im keeping same video card and blah, im aware that ill have to set up my raid and change like the audio, lan, and agp bus driver but other than that it should just boot righ up eh? any help would be very much appreciated.

thanks for your help,

JeffGoneWild is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

yup or just a repair

AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 04:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339

If you get a new Mobo you need a fresh install.
<form action=\"\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 04:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331

Beecause of driver issues you do. Your harddrives won't be recognized and vice-versa. A full reformat is needed.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
rkf76's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411

pzerofgh must have been sleepy when he replied

it won't boot right up, the motherboard drivers on your existing hd are for the motherboard it was isntalled on, so it won't work w/the new mobo. However, you may be able to get away w/a repair, as pzero stated.
Mobo Abit AN-M2
CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 2.8Ghz Black Edition
HD Seagate 7200.10 250GB/Maxtor DM +9 160GB/WD 500gb external
Optical Drive Lite-On LH-20A1L-06 DVD burner
RAM G.Skill DDR2 800 Dual channel 2GB (2 x 1GB)
Audio AudioTrak Prodigy HD2
Speakers Insignia NS-B2111
Receiver JVC UX-G70
PSU Hiper Type-R 580 watts
Case Lian Li PC-7SB w/Window
Monitor Lenovo L222
rkf76 is offline  
Closed Thread

« ridiculous | hello »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.