I'm building a new system between now and January - advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Akumajin

Baseband Member
Note: advice topic, not help topic :)

Ok, so I've never built a system by myself before (I watched and assisted a genius friend do the one I'm using now), so please go easy on me, heh. My good friend recently built his own by looking at online guides, reviews, info from friends etc, but it's a nice solid $1400 PC that is running great. I'm planning on him teaching me to make mine as we work together on a new system for me.

I really need it for Warhammer Online come February. I know that December (after/before Christmas sales) is the best time to buy stuff, as that is when I built my previous system and saved hundreds of dollars by doing so. I want it to be a Windows XP system, with a budget around but not limited to $1400.

Now, I know quite a bit about computers themselves, but not the important specifics of making one. I'm not here to ask that, but rather your advice on what/when to buy. Currently, my system is suffering from a failing hard drive and thus I can't play any game more powerful than World of Warcraft (and even that is aging).[/g] Believe me, I've defragged, diagnostic'd, scanned for every virus/spyware everything - it's the hardware, 99% sure.

ANYWAY, what do you guys think? Hold out until December and start buying pieces then, or just go for it and start looking for good deals now? All I need is the tower, I have everything else, and I have a power supply I got for free through a mail-in rebate a few months ago (600watt I believe). Will prices really change that much between now and then? Keep in mind I don't really need the computer now; the winter season of console games will keep me more or less occupied. However, even menial tasks are starting to chug along on the computer (stupid Maxtor).