Ignorance isn't bliss - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2006, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
JPI
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default Ignorance isn't bliss

MSI 975X Platinum socket 775 motherboard

Will this motherboard support Dual Core 2 E6600 Conroe? I don't understand what the "Supports IntelĀ® Dual Core Technology up to 1066MHz." means.

Another question (if you can answer), how do you know in the product specification (of any mobo) if it has intergrated video?
I doubt any of these do considering they all pretty much try to support crossfire (which i will probably never use )

I apologise for my ignorance...

Many thanks,

- James
__________________

JPI is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well If it is for crossfire or SLI it alsmost always will not support integrated video.

It should say like supports intel extreme graphics or somthin.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

Yea when a board has onboard graphics it usualy says blah blah blah integrated graphics by blah blah. Usualy high end boards dont have that.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-30-2006, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
JPI
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Ok, thank you both Do you know if this model definalty supports the new conroe? Does it just have to have the 975x chipset to work?
JPI is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 06:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

If it dosent support it right away im sure it will have a bios upgrade shortly, if it alrady dosent have one. I think the 975x chipset already have support for Core 2 Duo but i cant gurantee that.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

the link goes to the bargain bin, not the product..


the 975X chipset cupporst conroe, but that doesnt mean your board will.

Intel Core Duo is different than Intel Core2 Duo. C2D IS conroe, CD is not. Can you post a link to the actual product.
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
JPI
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default

This is the link to the actual product (hopefully), otherwise you can look in the bargin bin for the product name i supplied (only one page).
JPI is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

http://www.vadim.co.uk/Components/Ba...75+motherboard


I think this is the board he is speaking of.
Brindlemar is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Product Page:
http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...il.php?UID=713

If this is the motherboard your talking about, then no, its not Core 2 Duo ("conroe") compatible.
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
JPI
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tox1cThreat
Product Page:
http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...il.php?UID=713

If this is the motherboard your talking about, then no, its not Core 2 Duo ("conroe") compatible.
Yup, that's the one. Thanks for the reply. It is much apprechiated.

The link was annoying in the shop i was looking at
__________________

JPI is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.