If your not gonna use sli, go with P35? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2008, 10:07 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

more complicated and better BIOS along with better OCing ability. not to mention $50 more
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 10:55 PM   #22 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

ya but the features you get with the maximus formula are amazing. and it still over clocks liek a monster.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 12:19 AM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

The maximus is more then enough for me to handle i couldnt imagine using a more complex BIOS. I couldnt justify spending an extra 50$ seeing as if you know what your doing you can hit 3.7ghz with a Q6600 on air with a maximus, and it has auto overclocking ability.
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 03:50 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
The maximus is more then enough for me to handle i couldnt imagine using a more complex BIOS. I couldnt justify spending an extra 50$ seeing as if you know what your doing you can hit 3.7ghz with a Q6600 on air with a maximus, and it has auto overclocking ability.
pfft..the BIOS on DFI boards is way better
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 06:20 PM   #25 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

My maximus is supposed to be here tomorrow!
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 09:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

yeah ima be getting a DS3-L because it overclocks great and supports the new 45nm chips without a bios update. Plus its cheap.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 09:41 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

I think you can say that for all p35 chipset boards (well the 45nm support out of the box)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 09:48 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

True, but the Abit motherboard i was looking at (same price) didn't support it without an update and although most p35 motherboards do support it, you may get bad temp readings and instability. The DS3-L seems best for my price range.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 09:49 PM   #29 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsabree View Post
True, but the Abit motherboard i was looking at (same price) didn't support it without an update and although most p35 motherboards do support it, you may get bad temp readings and instability. The DS3-L seems best for my price range.
i have the ip35-e its an awesome overclock board
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 10:55 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

yeah im thinking about getting that exact motherboard but it doesnt support the new 45nm chips without a proper bios update, which bugs me.
How easy is it to update the bios of that board?
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All New NVIDIA Chipsets to Feature IGP and Hybrid SLI maroon1 New Technology and Products 6 05-06-2008 04:19 PM
New Triple SLI Machine Rhym3z New Systems | Building and Buying 8 01-29-2008 02:32 PM
Asus P5N32-E SLi Plus NosBoost300 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 01-14-2008 05:04 AM
NVIDIA Launching 3 way SLI Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-12-2007 09:55 PM
Intel X38 Supports SLI ? maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-19-2007 03:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.