If your not gonna use sli, go with P35? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2008, 01:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

I'm still slightly indecisive... i want a mobo that will overclock well, support 45nm technolgy, cost max 300$ and support evga 8800gts. What are your number 1 picks?
__________________

__________________
If it's sloppy... eat it over the sink.
gl600 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

depending on your budget...you can get a cheap P35 or if you have extra cash get a X38

a cheap P35 would be an Asus P5k or a Gigabyte DS3L
a more expensive X38 would be an Asus P5E or Maximus Formula

The X48 chipset is nothing but a handpicked X38 with more complicated BIOS.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

My budget is max 300$ for the mobo.
I'm currently learning about bios so i would rather a simpler mobo to start off with.
__________________
If it's sloppy... eat it over the sink.
gl600 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 02:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

Go with the maximus formula. That is a really good board. If you have that much money, dont bother with p35. If you have a lot of money for your whole build, get a x48* and get DDR3 memory.

Or use that extra money and get a better processor or something. But a motherboard is really important
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 02:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

not all X48's are going to be DDR3 only

The Rampage Formula will be DDR2

something like a P5K-e would be fine to start out with..they still overclock like crazy and BIOS are simple to work with.
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 02:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

I would suggest the maximus formula, best x38 board out there in my opinion, everyone who has it loves it, but i would also look into the X48 chipsets. From what i heard a while ago they are all supposed to be DDR3, but if some of them arent, you should definitly check it out.
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 02:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

Thanks for all the help!
looks like the "ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard" is the one for me
__________________
If it's sloppy... eat it over the sink.
gl600 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 03:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

I love my gigabyte x38 DQ6, and the fact i can avoid asus, and i hear its little brother the x38 DS4 is good as well.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 06:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

if your max budget is $300 get this one
DFI LANPARTY LT X38-T2R Core 2 Quad/ Intel X38/ CrossFire/ A&2GbE/ ATX Motherboard
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 10:03 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: If your not gonna use sli, go with P35?

300 is a lot for that board, what does it have over the maximus?
__________________

__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All New NVIDIA Chipsets to Feature IGP and Hybrid SLI maroon1 New Technology and Products 6 05-06-2008 04:19 PM
New Triple SLI Machine Rhym3z New Systems | Building and Buying 8 01-29-2008 02:32 PM
Asus P5N32-E SLi Plus NosBoost300 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 01-14-2008 05:04 AM
NVIDIA Launching 3 way SLI Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-12-2007 09:55 PM
Intel X38 Supports SLI ? maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-19-2007 03:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.