If unclocked - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2007, 06:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cyber.Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 77
Default If unclocked

would Dual Cores and Quad Cores produce alot of heat ?

how good do AMD's processors go against Intel's in terms of cost and performance ?


which is the fastest processor to date by either which wouldnt produce a lot of heat when not over clocked ?


Also is it better to have 2 hard drives of smaller capacities or one hard drive with lots of space?

if money isnt a constraint.. which would be your favorite top notch internal hard drive that doesnt sound like a vaccum cleaner ?

will be waiting for ur answers guys.. thanks in advance.


one more question ...



i am sick n tired of win xp as in literally tired.

I bought an Asus laptop off someone with all the driver cds etc.

I want to format this laptop so that i can get rid of the XP installed on this machine and install win98 SE (have the cd) instead.

This laptop doesnt have a floppy drive, I have a Flash usb about 1 gig but I dont know how to check to see if this laptop's BIOS would allow me to boot the machine using a Flash drive.

Last but not the least, say the BIOS doesnt allow me to then how else can i install the win98 on this laptop? I've got only 512 mb ram and win98 is much lighter than xp.

How do I know if my Win98SE is a bootable cd or not?

if it isnt, how do i make one? I have been surfing and surfing for this remedy but each website gives me a different approach and most them are so confusing for me.

Any help would be appreciated ... i am literally tired to the point of giving up and throwing in the towel.

Rescue a brother ! LOL !
__________________

Cyber.Logan is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: If unclocked

If you were to spend about an hour searching through previous threads on this forum, all of those questions would be answered about 100 times each.

Does the search feature even work yet? If so, use it.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cyber.Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 77
Default Re: If unclocked

Quote:
Originally Posted by HAVOC View Post
If you were to spend about an hour searching through previous threads on this forum, all of those questions would be answered about 100 times each.

Does the search feature even work yet? If so, use it.
it doesnt !

and am really sorry.. i kept clicking one page and another...

guess am a real noob !
Cyber.Logan is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: If unclocked

Dual cores now, do not produce that much heat. Quad cores produce more heat, than duals, but I don't think it's alot. But when overclocked, quads can produce quite a bit of heat. It also depends on the aftermarket cooling, you're using when overclocking. If you're worried about it, get a Tuniq.

Well you can get two Seagate 320gb hard drives, for about $160. $160 for about 640gb of space = bang for your buck. They're not noisy either.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cyber.Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 77
Default Re: If unclocked

can i ask you to pick the easiest solution(s) and just paste the links here ?

that would be really helpful..

my eyes are burning and i mentally tired..


hope you understand.

i am the only person in the office today and have been working along side this problem since 9 a.m.

i knw it doesnt make sense but .. this is where i cry for help.
Cyber.Logan is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cyber.Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 77
Default Re: If unclocked

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Dual cores now, do not produce that much heat. Quad cores produce more heat, than duals, but I don't think it's alot. But when overclocked, quads can produce quite a bit of heat. It also depends on the aftermarket cooler, you're using when overclocking. If you're worried about it, get a Tuniq.

Well you can get two Seagate 320gb hard drives, for about $160. $160 for about 640gb of space = bang for your buck. They're not noisy either.
what if i dint overclock them at all. then... ?
Cyber.Logan is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: If unclocked

If you don't overclock them at all, then they won't produce, much heat.

Hard drive:
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cyber.Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 77
Default Re: If unclocked

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post

nice...

yo biggie.. can u help me with the last part regarding the win formatting stuff (1st post)
Cyber.Logan is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 81
Default Re: If unclocked

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber.Logan View Post

i am sick n tired of win xp as in literally tired.

I bought an Asus laptop off someone with all the driver cds etc.

I want to format this laptop so that i can get rid of the XP installed on this machine and install win98 SE (have the cd) instead.

This laptop doesnt have a floppy drive, I have a Flash usb about 1 gig but I dont know how to check to see if this laptop's BIOS would allow me to boot the machine using a Flash drive.

Last but not the least, say the BIOS doesnt allow me to then how else can i install the win98 on this laptop? I've got only 512 mb ram and win98 is much lighter than xp.

How do I know if my Win98SE is a bootable cd or not?

if it isnt, how do i make one? I have been surfing and surfing for this remedy but each website gives me a different approach and most them are so confusing for me.

Any help would be appreciated ... i am literally tired to the point of giving up and throwing in the towel.

Rescue a brother ! LOL !

get Ubuntu - boot of cd install much lighter the xp - 98 and FREE -plus the fourm support is brill
__________________

JRatcliffe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.