If it's good for gaming, is it good for graphic designers? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2007, 08:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default If it's good for gaming, is it good for graphic designers?

Looking at a pretty nice graphics card:

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814150185

My question is...I'm not much of a gamer (and this card has great reviews for games), I'm curious if a graphics card is good for gaming, is it good for graphic designers? The computer I'm building will be my work station for web design and graphic design, and things will tend to get pretty heavy in 3Ds Max and ZBrush (3D modeling apps, just FYI)...

Do different video cards get made for different purposes? ie. video cards for gamers and video cards for designers...or are they all the same?

I appreciate the insight on this
__________________

NathanLedet is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 08:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I'm not sure thats good for graphic design. You want to look at these graphic cards:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=48

They are better for graphic design, and what you are going to do.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 08:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default

I need dual dvi outputs. The ones within my pricelist were single output, and everything else is way more than I can afford for dual output.

Why would the selection I've made be a bad choice versus the ones you linked me to?
NathanLedet is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I'm just not sure if it's powerful enough to handle those graphic design software, because it's mainly a gaming graphic card.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

get the latest Quadro FX 5600 or something like that n u will be good, but will cost u $3000 n the one down is the 4600 n costs $2000.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 10:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default

i can't afford 2k for a graphics card. this system isn't that high tech...my entire system without a graphics card is around 1,200...2k for a graphics card? no way...at least not for this one.....


If a graphics card performs well rendering 3D games and such, why would it make a difference in editing photos and using 3D modeling programs? To me, the graphics card i've chosen will work..but i'm looking for reasons why it won't work. I don't want to buy it under the impression that it will work for my needs, and then it turns out to be the total opposite of what I need.
NathanLedet is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 10:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

I don't know but if you expect to do good graphic design then you'r going to have to expect to buy a decent card...I know that a few cards can do graphic design pretty well but the ones that will do it the best are of coarse the Quadro cards.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 11:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default

Just get a gaming graphics card...... pfft lol
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 11:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Gaming and graphics design programs are two completely different things. That card would most likely stutter and make things look like crap in an editing program compared to when you're playing halo with it. If you're looking to do intense editing and stuff of that nature then you need to buy that type of card or your programs simply won't run like you'd like them to.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 12:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Exactly...gaming cards are designed for gaming and cards like the Quadro are designed for graphic design it's as simple as that. It will work but probably not too well is all..
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.